Mom's Brown Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2000
These were GREAT and so easy! I didn't use a deep fryer but a large skillet and they turned out WONDERFUL! I'm definitely going to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Excellent, I make these all the time. For a little twist, dice an onion and fry it with the potatoes it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
We enjoyed these because they weren't greasy like some we tried earlier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I make these for breakfast with a dash of garlic salt and pepper, and with a side of bacon. Wonderful recipe, especially when I can't make it to waffle house for their hashbrowns :) ! Next time, I will try adding a few onions, and maybe covering in cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I LOVE THESE potatoes!!!!!! I have to say I make them a bit heathier now. I mix a small amount of olive oil and the rest of the ingredients and bake in a 350 oven for 45 minutes. You don't get the yummy fried crunch but they are a pretty close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Funky twist to fries! I added a dash of all-season salt too for both color and taste. Go easy on the garlic salt (add to taste) b/c my first batch was a little too salty but otherwise good. Tried dipping in ranch dressing per a previous reviewer - which was good too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
absolutely fantastic. my family LOVES potatoes so any way there is to cook, season, and present them is always worth at least a glance....this recipe is worth keeping extra oil on hand for those Friday night movies when chips just won't cut it! my oldest daughter (8) loves them with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I loved these! They were really easy and quick! I made two days ago and i'm making them again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is an interesting way to fry potatos I ended up getting my pan to full out of sheer laziness of not wanting to do 2 batches but they still taste like a good fried tater. I did add some onions to mine (IMO it cant be fried taters without onion) and added garlic salt that had parsley flakes in it already. I really enjoyed the garlic salt on them and my 6yo went wild for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These potatoes were kind of basic but they were still really good. Next time, I am going to add season salt to them, as one user suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahottchicka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States