Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I use beef or chicken broth instead of water (although, the water works just as well). I think the broth adds just a bit more kick to it. Also, I HATE marmite! BUT, I followed the recipe anyway cuz my boyfriend loves it (he's English). This gravy totally rocks! It slightly reminds me of the gravy from Kentucky Fried Chicken but better and homemade! Thank you so much for posting this easy and tasty gravy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
When I first saw it was marmite gravy I thought, yuck! But this is the BEST gravy I've tasted. My husband is vegetarian so this is perfect for us. Didn't change a thing. Thanks very, very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have missed having gravy at supper b/c my husband is vegetarian -but this stuff is great! I'll be making this recipe again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I love this gravy. I've made it several times, and it's always enjoyed by vegetarians such as me, and meat eater guests alike. I add more marmite (probably double), as well as approx. 1 Tbs. powdered shitake mushroom. It's also good with shallot powder in adition to, or instead of onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This gravy is excellent. Instead of onion powder and salt, I used a vegetarian bouillon/stock cube. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I use this gravy for so much. I usually add a tsp of garlic powder, and sometimes sub shortening for butter which works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
suprisingly delicious and not time consuming. poured it over tofurkey. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
In the strictest sense of the word, this is not "vegetarian" if it contains butter...but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moder8Sk1LLz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Delicious! I doubled the Vegemite, and added some Worchestershire Sauce. Very Yummy! Thanks SOooo much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States