Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very very good!!! My son wanted chicken gravy like the school has =/ I did sub better than bullion for the yeast extract and had a very good result. Would be happy to make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was tasty! Except it was really watery - even though I used the cornstarch! I might try to use a bit less water next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fantastic! My first time making home made brown gravey. I made it my own by using only beef broth, onion powder, corn starch and salt and pepper to tase. My family loved it! Thanks for the blue print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I had wondered what to do with the jar of Marmite we tried as an experiment (and didn't really like) and this was delicious & so easy to make! We used it on mashed potatoes for Amanda Fair's Bangers and Mash recipe. I made it too early, so it thickened up a bit too much, so I just added water and whisked it and it liquified right up to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very good. We couldn't find Marmite, so we took others suggestion with bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Fantastic vegetarian gravy recipe! I made this for my MIL for Thanksgiving dinner this year because she's on a very specific diet. I followed the recipe almost exactly, however I did take it one step further by using Earth Balance soy butter in place of real butter to make it truly vegan. (my MIL can't have dairy) She absolutely loved it and asked for the recipe. Like one user said, it has a very bold, mushroom like flavor to it. Quite nice! Even us carnivores enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and result was a huge disappointment. It was so bland that we scrapped the idea of having a vegetarian gray all together and combined it with some bottled turkey gravy to see if it would add any extra flavor. It didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this gravy recipe is just yummilicious! it's my 1st time making gravy from scratch and the best part is that i had all the ingredients at home! (i used fresh onions instead of onion powder though). my fussy english hubby was very impressed as well. thank you for this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Thanks so much for this recipe. I have been vegetarian for about the last 12 years, and one of the few things I still miss is gravy. Although this does not taste like meat gravy, it is delicious in itself and provides that same silky texture. It is so easy to make, too, and will keep in the fridge and reheats well. The only difference from the recipe that I made was to add a "beef" veggie bouillon cube for some extra flavour. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Instead of using the marmite i used 2 tablespoons of the drippings from a roast i made. It was excellent. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgenco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States