Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
i made this one because i had no meat dripping because i bbq my chicken and this gray was great as others i didn't have the yeast extract so used 2 pks of beef bouillon and still turned out great i will be trying next time with the yeast thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I think I wound up using a little more butter then necessary, and I didn't have onion powder so I substituted with dried minced onion and a little garlic powder... came out perfect! I had exactly one serving of London Broil left over, so I made up one serving of the gravy, sliced up the meat, and added it to the pot with the completed gravy. Cooked it for a few minutes to warm it up and it was utterly perfect on top of a slice of bread. I will make London Broil again so I can have it with this gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very wonderful recipe for gravy! I was hesitant about the marmite, but it works! In response to another review, this IS vegetarian (vegetarians eat animal by-products: milk, cheese, butter, & eggs), but it is NOT vegan (they don't eat ANYTHING that comes from animals including milk, cheese, eggs, & butter). Big difference between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used 4 tsp beef bullion instead of yeast mix. It was goo but too salty. Next time, cut down salt amount if using bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was a life saver! My mom's recipe called for beef bouillon which I was out of. Tried this with the bouillon cubes - awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Little taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This gravy is seriously so good. I haven't had gravy in about a decade, and was really missing it (especially on Thanksgiving). Glad to have found this recipe! My carnivorous boyfriend even prefers it over the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
First time I made this I oopsied, lol!! Second time was absolutely delicious!!! Will use this from now on instead of the packet or store bought garbage :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made exactly as written and all my vegetarian family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Totally easy and goes really well with mashed potatoes or grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERCRAB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States