Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Soooo good! I had the hardest time finding Marmite/Vegemite and I'm in San Diego, CA! I saw it everywhere 10 years ago. I used the Vegetable Better Than Bouillon and it worked perfectly. I also used 2 teaspoons of the bouillon and skipped the teaspoon of salt.... I thought it was a little more flavorful. I will never buy the dry packets of brown gravy mix again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made a half-recipe of this, using chicken soup base instead of yeast extract and adding some garlic powder as well. It was tasty, but toooo salty, even though I added no extra salt. Next time I'll back off the soup base as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Becker, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Amory, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I didn't know how in the world this would taste good, but the reviews said it was excellent, so I tried it since I didn't have any drippings to make gravy from scratch. It was DELICIOUS. Instead of plain hot water, I used Beef Better than Buillion to amp up the flavor. It was really really good - will use this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Tried this and was very satisfied. I usually make a roux first but this tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Used Knorr's Beef Base and added only 1 tsp. Next time I might use 1 1/2 tsp. but this was very good and will replace my buying gravy packets. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Glad to have vegetarian gravy for Christmas, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Awesome gravy! It's easy to make and tastes great. I make this to go on top of my shepherd's pie, and I made it for thanksgiving for my vegan family members. Even the meat eaters chose this gravy over the meat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Keyes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was amazing. My husband kept giving it a hmmm....hmmm....hmmm...and I was agreeing with him. I'll definitely be making this often. I made some adjustment as well. I used a T. of soaked dried onion instead of the onion powder, left out the salt and I used a can of beef broth instead of water. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judee090

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
As a Canadian, I love my poutine, but since going vegetarian, I haven't been able to find a suitable brown gravy for anything, let alone poutine. This was outstanding! I served my poutine at a BBQ and everyone loved it, including those gobbling up the animal flesh. :) This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States