Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
very easy and excellent taste. used diced ham, sausage would be yummy too but greasier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I used 1 lb french bread slices (toasted for the base) and cubes for the top layer. I did not have mushrooms or peppers so I did without. I did add 1 tsp mustard and 1 tsp garlic powder and about 1/2 tsp seasoned salt to the egg milk mixture. With that much bread it cooked faster than I expected. It was beautiful toasty brown with I took the foil off after 35 min. I know I changed the recipe a lot but it is a great inspiration to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIEGRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is a great base recipe that can be adjusted to ones taste. I followed the cooks note and used bacon instead of ham. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have made something similar, and you can throw in spinach and shredded zucchini. You can also dump the bread and sub in tator tots. OR you can grate potatoes on top of the bread and then layer on vegetables, cheese and such. Also, add just a pinch of dry mustard and a couple of shakes of nutmeg into the mix. You can try other spices. But make sure whatever bread you use is a bit dry . . . or mush is what you will get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe except I added 2 tsp. dry mustard, 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. pepper--it feeds 5 or 6--everyone loved it!!!!!!!!! It really needs the spices--my kids loved it-but they added 1/2 tsp of cayenne--or just top with a couple spoons of salsa---Thanks this is great! grams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Yes! I got fresh baked crusty rosemary bread from Whole Foods, Red instead of green pepper, Frozen apple & chicken sausage links,(8) cut into small pieces and sustituted lactaid fat-free milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this as written and it was very good. My kids do not like mushrooms so I only put them on half. It worked nice with leftover french bread and hamburger buns for the bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Use half the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wow, what a delish treat on Christmas morning. Very flavorful and not too "eggy" - delicate cross between quiche and baked eggs. Used turkey sausage, low fat milk, cheddar/jack cheese and rye bread; added chopped spinach and garlic powder. Next time will try bacon and asparagus. Perfect for winter dinners also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe.I had this for a morning brunch with old friends. Prepared the night before, got to enjoy my company. Side dish of cheese grits,croussants with nutella and strawberries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States