Mom's Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I love the recipe it made a great gravy. The only thing I do differently is brown pork neck bones and simmer them along with the sauce for at least an hour. My mothers friend who would be over 100 yrs old now gave my mother this helpful hint. It brings out such great flavor sweet and savory...try it just once and you won't go back. For sweetness I add a little brown sugar and grate a hint of nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe but made some variations as suggested by reviewers. I added less than one cup of water(probably 1/2 a cup or less). One reviewer suggested omitting the water altogether - but I like my sauce a little less thick. I left out the mushrooms and parmesan cheese. I added a splash of red wine, some crushed red peppers to the sauce and turkey sausage in the last 1 1/2 hours of cooking. (I pan fried the turkey sausage and chose to use sliced sausage for the sauce). I also used dried basil in addition to fresh basil. I did brown the onions and garlic cloves (I used three)in a pan with olive. oil first. I added salt, pepper and oregano to the onions and cloves before mixing it with the sauce. I crushed the whole tomatoes in the sauce pan, and let it simmer a bit before I adding the sauce. I also had a bit of left over ready to eat summer garlic sausage so I threw that in as well. I taste tasted along the way and made adjustments as necessary. This recipe yields a huge pot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Chew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is my family's very favorite sauce. I am allergic to onions, and so leave them out, but I add a TON of herbs (I like it flavorful) according to taste. I usually make two or three batches at a time and freeze it. Then we have sauce for months at a time. It is also good if you add whatever veggies you have in the garden, although I have to put them in the blender so my husband and kids don't complain (they don't like chunks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The reason some of you aren't having success is you are not cooking it under a low LOW temp. If your sauce is starting to get real brown around the edges, two things are happening; 1) your heat is too high or 2)you haven't added enough water and it is burning and causing it to get too brown. Check to see what kind of pan you are using too... too thin.. it burns. If you don't like the seasoning, too bland etc, then add extra spices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My grandmother was from Sicily. Her sauce was out of this world. This is a good starter recipe in which you may omit or add to your own taste. I omitted the tomatoe sauce. Used canned diced tomatoes (italian style), tomatoe paste, light brown sugar and a throw in of here and there seasonings. I will comment on those who used a crockpot to make this sauce...a big no no! Spaghetti sauce should only be made on the stove, very low heat, just enough to keep a low simmer. I also simmered the garlic and onion in olive oil before adding all the other ingredients. Just brings out the flavor even more. After two hours of slow simmer is when I started taste testing....then adding this and that to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 Stars based on the following from a previous review from Debra. I made a big batch and froze 1/2 of it. I also took the advise of another and omitted the white sugar and added brown sugar instead. Delicious! Per Debrah, "I deleted the mushrooms, parmesan cheese, and the baking soda. I add a little more garlic then this recipe calls for and NO water. I also add oregano to mine. When cooking it is important to cook the onions and garlic in some olive oil first. This brings out the flavor. I also add the fresh parsley basil and oregano (chopped), and salt and pepper to that first and cook a few minutes. Then I add the whole tomatoes and the juice in the can, very important to take your hands to them and crush them a little. I let that come to a boil first before adding the sauce. After adding the sauce, I simmer and let it cook for 3 or 4 hours, stirring occasionally with the lid partially on. I also add additional seasoning as I taste and go along. What really turns the sauce unbelievably awesome is that I make meatballs seperately in a frying pan and once they are cooked I add them to the sauce during the last hour. WOW! gives the sauce such an awesome flavor."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful sauce if you like a traditional sauce. I don't personally like my spagetti sauce spicy. That is what chili is for. If you don't follow the directions it will not come out right. Had no problems with any of the ingredients so I know some of the comments are from errors in preparation. I cooked this recipe over night in a slow cooker on low and then refrigerated during the day. Also froze some and ate it the next week. It had thickened up and was even better. Thanks MOM for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Alsome spaghetti sauce my whole family loves it. No more store sauce in my home. Thank you so for making me a hit as a cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i used brown sugar instead of white and 3 teaspoons. i also used fresh tomatoes( plunging them in water and peeling the skins off) from my garden and subbed red bell pepper for the mushrooms since i didnt have any mushrooms and didnt add water since my tomatoes were fresh. kept all the seasonings the same. i simmered this on the stove all day until it became thick. i added ground beef to it for a meatsauce. i know i changed this based on the ingredients i had but the seasonings are the right amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This sauce is AMAZING!!!! Added oregano...... My Dad is requesting that I make more and freeze for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States