Mom's Best Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Perhaps I missed something but I used thick porkchops and went by the time and temp recommended and they were way over cooked. Flavor was ok. If I'd used thin chops they would have been rubber cooking them for the recommended time and temp. Either shorten the time or reduce the temp if you don't want unmoist and over cooked chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My mom always baked her pork chops in the oven and that seemed to make them very tender. Other recipes I see only have you bake on the stove top until cooked through and I find the meat isn't tender. Cracker crumbs are good to use, as well as bread crumbs. Use whatever spices you have around that you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great recipe, but instead of crushed crackers I use crushed cornflakes (Post Toasties, Kelloggs, whatever, brand doesn't matter). I use the cornflakes in a lot of recipes that bcall for breadcrumbs or crushed crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I never seem to get pork chops right but these turned out really well! They were tender and had great flavor. This recipe is going into my "favorite" collection of recipes! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Obermiller Kline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have been doing this for years, but I don't fry them first. I just bread them and put them in the oven at 350 for 55 minutes (60 is just a little bit too long. Five minutes does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I tried this a couple months ago when I didnt have regular breadcrumbs - I didnt like the saltines at all. They get soggy real fast and don't turn out well. I like to season the chops first with salt, pepper and garlic powder, then flour lightly, dip in beaten egg, then in seasoned (or not)breadcrumbs. Fry in hot oil till browned on one side, flip and do the same. If chops are real thick, transfer to cookie sheet and finish in oven for 20-30 minutes. Oh and this works equally well on chicken. I do it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is great! I've been using the crackers on cube steak to make chicken fried steak for years. Crackers are much more crunchy & keep the meat more moist, than flour. Also, if you season the meat first, then into the egg, then pat the crackers crumbs into the meat, the seasoning and the crackers stay on better. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I make a similar recipe, using crushed cornflakes instead of crackers, baking @ 375 only instead of frying first. I sprinkle seasonings over chops after they've been coated w/ the flakes. Simply delicious, and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is a super dish and I have been making it for years. I let the chops soak in the egg (added the seasonings to egg; suggest oregano and garlic salt) for about 15-30 minutes then bread in crushed saltines. Other readers have suggested Ritz but I feel it hides the taste. After breading let the chops rest on wax paper so the breading hardens. This keeps the breading on the chops during frying. I know that rating this recipe then saying I changed it really doesn't count but the concept is a keeper and I just wanted to add another thought to the same concept. This has always been a winner in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Trinidad, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great recipe...I cook pork chop just fine but I really enjoyed this. Made them so tender to bake after. I used Hi Ho crackers and add seasonings to crackers because the seasoning doesn't stick with the egg wash. Also press crackers down into meat good so it sticks to meat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States