Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have tried many, many brittle recipes over the years, having a brittle addict for a husband. He has declared this one the best yet. I made it for Christmas using a few suggestions from readers, such as using half white and half brown sugar, adding the raw peanuts at 200 degrees to avoid scorching, adding a teaspoon of vanilla with the butter and bsoda. Warmed the cookie sheet to help the brittle spead out. The family just raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Crazy simple, I doubled the recipe and had enough to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
WOW!!! I did have a parchment paper lined pan, with the parchment sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, in the oven at 200. That helped the candy spread evenly. No problem with burning. I used unsalted peanuts and added them at the end. I did add 2 tsp of vanilla extract just before the butter and soda went in. Oh, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Perfect recipe! I love pecans, so I used those instead of peanuts. I accidentally let temperature raise to nearly 350 deg, but still turned out delicious! Perfect color, sheen & crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is tasty and fairly easy. I would definitely recommend adding the peanuts at 250 degrees, as they seem to scorch quite easily otherwise. I also started using about 1 1/2 cups-2 cups of peanuts, otherwise you get a fair amount of brittle at the edges without peanuts. Not the best recipe ever, but certainly much easier than many of the tastier one's I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Definitely adjust the amount of peanuts to your liking but wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrivateprawR
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Came out great and easy to make. I prefer to use peeled halved peanuts. I think it looked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe is awesome. It was my first attempt at making peanut brittle and I could not believe how easy it was. I used cashews instead of peanuts and it turned out so great that I immediately made a second batch. I used a silpat and sprayed with Emeril's butter spray and no problems with setting up or lifting off. Can't wait to make more, although it's quite addictive. Hated to tell my Mom it was better than hers but wanted to share this recipe with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
OMGosh! This recipe was fabulous! I never made peanut brittle before and this turned out better than I had ever hoped. I have heard horror stories about too thick and too hard when making peanut brittle, so my expectations were very low and this was better than the most wonderful in any shop I ever bought from. Making it again this year to go in my neighbors goodies boxes. Now you know that it has to be good to do that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States