Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Hopefully the third time will be the charm. I made two batches that did not turn out whatsoever. They never got hard or a good color. Have never made this before so it was a stab in the dark, also I didn't have a candy thermometer. BUT I WAS JONSE'IN FOR BRITTLE! Pretty sure I got a winner this time, stirred for 12-14 minutes, thats the trick. I'll let ya know how yummy it is. Thanks for sharing. UPDATE: Ok, they're done, one outside for a few minutes and one straight into the fridge for a few. The first batch I did was good, hard and crunchy with a little stick to the teeth going on. Batch 2 OMG!!!! This batch I let get a little darker carmel color while still on the stove. Was a little faster with the soda and butter, mixed up quick and poured onto sheet. WOW!!!! Finished product is a little darker than batch 1 and 1000 times better!!!! Dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I've never made brittle before, but I was able to figure this recipe out and it came out very yummy! It was a little stressful, maybe just because it was my first time, but I followed the directions exactly and everything worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great! First time ever making peanut brittle and it turned out GREAT! I used 2.25 cups of peanuts and still could have used a few more nuts! Also, I had the cookie sheet warming in the oven, and then when I had it spread out, I put it back into the oven to let it smooth out even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Had to make it a second time to get it right. Didn't have a thermometer so you have cook the candy until it drizzle off the spoon. Drizzle a little off the spoon into some ice water and its HARD then its ready. I must admit the first batch I used roasted peanuts and when I did the ice water test it, it looked hard but was kind of soft to the touch. hen it cooled, I microwaved it for about 3 minutes then put it back in the fridge. When I tried it, it tasted exactly like a payday candy bar or a snickers without the chocolate so it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! Great recipe, the perfect amount of peanuts. Love it and have added it to my recipe box to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe was amazing. Tasted delicious and just like the kind you buy in candy stores! My family LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have never made Peanut brittle before. This was an interesting experience. I used 1 1/2 cups of unsalted roasted peanuts instead of just 1 cup of regular. I also added about a teaspoon of real vanilla. Also, I did half white sugar and half dark brown for extra favor. It turned out great. My wife could not stop eating it. It was not too hard. I was very impressed. I waited until the temp hit about 200 to 250 before adding the peanuts because I was a fit apprehensive of burning the nuts. Seemed to work very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have never made peanut brittle before and was a little nervous about making it as I have had some candy disasters before. But I shouldn't have worried because this recipe made the best peanut brittle ever! Following the advice of some reviewers I didn't put the peanuts in until around 250 degrees because I didn't want them to burn and I also added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla along with the butter and baking soda after removing it from the heat. These changes made a wonderful tasting brittle that is as good or better than any I have tasted before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe, but I have to admit, I didn't follow it to a T. First of all, I didn't have raw peanuts on hand, so I added them just as the caramel browned perfectly, instead of at the beginning. I also don't have a thermometer, but once you've made a handful of brittles you kind of figure it out. Also, instead of adding the 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the caramel, I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the peanuts along with a generous pinch of cayenne and shook them in a container. (I don't trust too many ingredients in a pot with caramel--sugar gets jealous and crystallizes the whole darn pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made five batches of this in the last few days. They all turned out just great. I do have a suggestion. If you love coconut like I do, try adding some coconut extract instead of vanilla. I use two teaspoons. Also, add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of coconut with the peanuts. I increased the ingredients by 1/2 on everything else. I thought it might be too thick, if I didn't. I also spread one cup of real milk choclate chips on top after it set for a minute or so. Let them sit on top for a few minutes. Take a spoon as spread them out all over the brittle. This is the best Peanut Brittle that I have ever tasted. I used roasted peanuts and I put them in around 280 degrees like others suggested. I also put the coconut in right after that. I think two teaspoons of the baking soda works best. Thanks for all the helpfu hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States