Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a hard candy type recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, except doubled it. Helpful hint - raw peanuts are in the produce aisle, not in the nut aisle! The taste is great, I couldn't stop eating it. I took some to work, and everyone loved it. It did take almost 25 minutes to hit 300 degrees, so be patint and use the candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Super easy! Used 1 1/2 cups peanuts instead of a cup. Preheated the cookie sheet and the brittle spread easily. Thanks for the tips about having the baking soda and butter ready, cause you need to move fast! Also, the temperature moves quickly after it hits 250 so watch carefully! I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
everybody loved it and this was super easy and very low cost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe for Christmas gifts every year for the last three years, and it is absolutely fantastic! I use a good quality digital candy thermometer and it turns out perfect every time. I have never made it with peanuts, but instead use toasted pecans. I follow other reviewers' advice and I don't add the nuts until the candy reaches 250°F so that the nuts don't burn before the candy is finished cooking. The list of people who request I make this for them grows every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Long McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is very easy and simple. Turns out perfect every time, even when I make a double batch! Making this for my step son's wedding because his fiancee loves peanut brittle and was blown away by it's flavor and the fact that I made it for her from scratch. Like everyone else, I stress the importance of having the peanuts, butter and soda ready. For those who say the peanuts taste burned, the only reason I can think is too much heat and inadequate stirring. For those who asked also, temperature IS extremely important. If it doesn't reach the 300 degree mark, it won't crack and break. Also try not to overhandle as the brittle has a more airy taste that way. Its a great recipe and around here if you want it you'll have to move fast, it doesn't stay around too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Wilken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Virginia, USA
Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Great, easy recipe. The only things I did differently was using 1 1/3 cups peanuts and followed the advice of another reviewer and kept my cookie sheet warm in the oven and used a greased spatula to help spread it on the pan instead of using 2 forks. peanuts. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out great -- I used 3 different kinds of nuts to add variety - Be careful to cook it SLOWLY and always keep stiring or it will burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sayhi2julia
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is the first time I have ever made peanut brittle, it was so easy to make and is so yummy, that its also so easy to eat! I did a 1/2 cup white sugar and a 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, 3/4 cup peanuts and 1/2 cup pecans (I like it a little chunkier). I used salted roasted peanuts so I did not add the extra salt and I added the pecans right after the mixture began to boil and I added the peanuts when the temp was just above 250 so they would not burn. I took the advice of another review and put my pan in the oven on warm while I was making this so it would spread a little easier. Also after I let it cool for a few minutes I topped it off with just a little chocolate sauce and caramel sauce (makes it a little sweeter so do not add to much unless you decided to add the salt that I omitted). Then I set it in the freezer to harden the chocolate and caramel. It came out so good that I already have people asking me to make it for them for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sayhi2julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I think this is better than the See's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Great flavor! I've never made any kind of brittle, but I made this three times yesterday - one with peanuts, one with cashews, and one with almonds. It worked perfectly for all of them, and easy too! The key is to stir constantly once you add the nuts, I found it helpful to clip the candy thermometer to the inside of each pot. I can't wait to make this again and drizzle some melted chocolate chips over the almond brittle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States