Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was quite nice. This is the third peanut brittle recipe I've tried, and I'm still a bit nervous about this stuff. I made it almost exactly as written, using unsalted peanuts, and a little more corn syrup since I was polishing off a bottle. I did use a candy thermometer and I was a little worried about the mixture burning, so I stopped at maybe 290 degrees or so. The results were quite tasty, but I did learn a little lesson. I didn't spread the brittle out as much as the stated 14x12 inches, and I did notice that thick brittle is not nearly as good as what I'm used to. So I may make this again soon - I enjoyed the results anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yummy! I used whole natural almonds (with skin on), toasted slightly in the oven ahead of time for better flavour and chopped in half so they wouldn't be unwieldy. I also used coconut oil instead of butter so it would be pareve (kosher, non-dairy) and the oil didn't blend so well with the sugar mixture, but I've had the same problem with butter in the past, so I'll have to work on that. I have used this baking soda technique to make sponge toffee, so the basic method was familiar already. You definitely have to spread it quickly - in future, I may spread the nuts evenly on the pan and then pour the mixture over them. Easy and delicious last-minute treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is also my mom's best peanut brittle, she made it several times a year. Some stores carry more raw peanuts at Christmas and reduce the price after the holidays. They can be stored in the freezer for a year. Recently my mother died and for her memorial luncheon we are making her peanut brittle and other goodies along with printed copies of the recipes. naspencer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! So easy to make, and it came out perfect. My family couldn't stop eating it. I'll have to make another batch soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Philster
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe is perfect! I used Planters Dry Roast peanuts for it and it turned out so yummy! This was my first attempt at making candy. I blew it the first try because I didn't have a candy thermometer and relied on the alternate testing method, and misjudged that it was done. It turned out chewy rather than crunchy. The second attempt was perfect. Get a candy thermometer like I ended up doing - it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is good, but next time I will use dark corn syrup instead of the light one to give it more color. Since I used salted peanuts, I omitted the salt. Add the peanuts at the end. I also warm up the cookie sheet lined with silicon liner. I forgot the vanilla as suggested by other reviewers but still taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was really good! I had never made brittle before. I was terrified to try it because it's one of those things that's really easy to make... and really easy to ruin :P So I manned up and tried it with chopped pecans instead of peanuts. I surprised myself and DID'NT burn it and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
BOOYAH!!! This brittle is off the pan! First try....perfect. I took the advice of others and added the peanuts at 250 degrees F, 1 teaspoon of vanilla with the butter and baking soda, and kept the well greased cookie sheet warm in the oven until I was ready to pour the mixture. Thanks for posting this amazing recipe.....everyone at the bus stop enjoyed the first batch....of many to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoodlandsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
this is a great recipe. i used dark instead of light corn syrup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States