Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I also use cashews instead of peanuts sometimes. The only thing different I do in this recipe is I add the nuts in when the candy thermometer reaches 300 degrees, then wait until the thermometer reaches 310 before taking it off the stove and adding the butter and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is great! Made per recipe except for adding extra peanuts (about an extra half cup), and a teaspoon of vanilla. We prefer our brittle with bubbles, so I just poured and let cool; did not lift and pull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have made this several times and it is delicious! The main problem is it's highly addictive and you can't stop eating it! I used cashew nuts because that's what I had. Have all the ingredients measured out and ready because you have to move fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My sister loves peanut brittle and she adored this recipe. I wrapped up a pile of this for her Xmas present. However, I thought it was a little bland. I would add vanilla or almond extract to the recipe as another reviewer suggested. Likewise, I agree to have everything together at once because it comes together FAST. Finally, make sure your thermometer is completely accurate. If in doubt, go pick up a new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Perfect! Super easy to make and set up perfect! To those who have had problems getting it to set be sure to use a big enough pan and use a candy thermometer. Candy making is science and if even one variable is off it can cause inferior results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Cunningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is amazing brittle. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar. To me, the molasses in the brown sugar was a little stong,so next time I will use all white sugar. Will keep this recipe forever. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is the yummiest, easiest recipe ever. I tried it when I needed some for another recipe and I couldn't find any in the stores. Now I prefer this over any other. Simple ingredients, easy steps, and ready in no time. I recommend NOT buttering the pan. It's not necessary and just makes the brittle greasy to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
OMG so good, it's light and easy to bite! I sent this out with our Christmas cards and already received several outstanding complements. My family is requesting more =) This was my first time making brittle. Following several reviewers suggestions and some of my own I'll sum up the helpful tips to improve the recipe which I used. I boiled a separate pot of water to clean with after cooking. Got all ingredients measured out ahead of time. I doubled the recipe (worked fine for me) and added 1 tsp. vanilla with the baking soda and butter. I used roasted peanuts so i added them in after 250 degrees. I warmed the pan ahead of time in the oven, and didn't use forks to manipulate the soft brittle, i just tired to pour over pan evenly using a circle motion (where possible). This was to keep the bubbles from popping which make it light and easy to chew. I sprinkled chocolate chips over it (about 1/2 - 1 bag =) while still warm. Then stuck it in the freezer to cool. It was a little greasy and after making this twice, I'll consider trying a parchment paper lined pan to pour onto. Also, it did seem a little sticky after drying, it would be great to know how to prevent that. Perhaps the chocolate made it greasier? All in all very easy to make, and better than anything from the store. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
On Christmas Eve I thought I'd make peanut brittle for the family gathering tomorrow. All was going well but my therometer wouldn't go over 240 degrees so I turned up the heat and within no time my mixture started to turn very brown so I poured it onto my baking sheet. It was more of a caramel cream instead of brittle. Am I supposed to keep the sugar bubbling the whole time? I left the 'brittle' at home. Happy Holidays, The Brittle Disaster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States