Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe. Made two batches in less than an hour and my family LOVES it. My wife doesn't like peanut brittle bought from the store. She says it's to hard on her teeth. I let this come to a rapid boil once proper temperature was reached. Then quickly stirred in the butter and baking powder. Poured it on the cookie sheet, spread it and put it outside. That left a lot of air in it so not as hard to chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent! Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. I made a double batch for a Holiday party I was hosting with other goodies to set around to nosh on. This was one of the very first things to go. Everyone was asking me for more! It was easy to make and clean up wasn't bad. Hope you enjoy as much as my guests did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed directions but for some reason the butter didn't mix well with the sugar mixture, it seperated once I poured it out on the sheet. They were greasy at the touch and very hard. But tasted allright. I wont be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
SIMPLY THE BEST, i'VE BEEN USING THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS, GO CRAZY WHEN i CAN'T FIND IT. lOVE IT. wON'T USE ANY OTHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise MacColeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made a Thai Peanut Brittle using this recipe. Instead of water I used coconut milk, which needs to be stirred a lot at first, it seems to want to boil over in the beginning. I didn't add the salt. I added roasted/salted peanuts when the temperature hit 300-350 degrees. I took the pot off the burner and added the butter, baking soda, a big pinch of fresh, diced lemongrass and kafir leaves, and a tablespoon of chili garlic sauce. A really good, spicy Thai brittle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This peanut brittle recipe is a bit dark for my liking. But am amazed at how many people burn their brittle. Cook while constantly stirring is the only way to make good brittle. A thermometer is a must and the humidity needs to be 40% or lower. I use a dehumidifier here in Florida to get the humidity down so it isn't sticky. Put nuts in pan at the soft ball stage and by the time it reaches 305 degrees they will be thoroughly toasted but not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Works great, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Borden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This recipe worked very well for someone new to candy making (Me). The only thing that surprised me was it is a small batch. It is more than enough for one person, but I don't think it would be enough for two. (Because it tastes good and you'd have to share. LOL)The candy thermometer is a must for new candy makers like me. Set up the greased pan and ingredients as this recipe dose cook fast and you have to be ready when it is at temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Yep! I made the p-nut brittle it came out gr8 but I agree with one of the viewers. It could definitely used 2 cups of p-nuts. So next X I will use 2 cps. 2 much sugar 4 one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States