Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is amazing brittle. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar. To me, the molasses in the brown sugar was a little stong,so next time I will use all white sugar. Will keep this recipe forever. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is the yummiest, easiest recipe ever. I tried it when I needed some for another recipe and I couldn't find any in the stores. Now I prefer this over any other. Simple ingredients, easy steps, and ready in no time. I recommend NOT buttering the pan. It's not necessary and just makes the brittle greasy to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
OMG so good, it's light and easy to bite! I sent this out with our Christmas cards and already received several outstanding complements. My family is requesting more =) This was my first time making brittle. Following several reviewers suggestions and some of my own I'll sum up the helpful tips to improve the recipe which I used. I boiled a separate pot of water to clean with after cooking. Got all ingredients measured out ahead of time. I doubled the recipe (worked fine for me) and added 1 tsp. vanilla with the baking soda and butter. I used roasted peanuts so i added them in after 250 degrees. I warmed the pan ahead of time in the oven, and didn't use forks to manipulate the soft brittle, i just tired to pour over pan evenly using a circle motion (where possible). This was to keep the bubbles from popping which make it light and easy to chew. I sprinkled chocolate chips over it (about 1/2 - 1 bag =) while still warm. Then stuck it in the freezer to cool. It was a little greasy and after making this twice, I'll consider trying a parchment paper lined pan to pour onto. Also, it did seem a little sticky after drying, it would be great to know how to prevent that. Perhaps the chocolate made it greasier? All in all very easy to make, and better than anything from the store. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
On Christmas Eve I thought I'd make peanut brittle for the family gathering tomorrow. All was going well but my therometer wouldn't go over 240 degrees so I turned up the heat and within no time my mixture started to turn very brown so I poured it onto my baking sheet. It was more of a caramel cream instead of brittle. Am I supposed to keep the sugar bubbling the whole time? I left the 'brittle' at home. Happy Holidays, The Brittle Disaster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the worst peanut brittle I have ever made. After putting in the baking soda and pouring it out to cool, it had the consistency of taffy. It never harden, it was a horrible disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wonderful...made the recipe as stated, and they turned out fabulous. I agree with previous reviewers in that I put my sheet pan in the oven to warm it up before putting the completed mix on the pan, and by having the pan warm, it gave me additional time to spread the mix out. Yum...Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My first time at making peanut brittle was a success, thanks for such an easy recipe. I did read some of the other reviews and follow their suggestions. I used a 1 1/2 cups peanuts and it was about right, I used parchment paper on a large sheet cake pan that I had kept warm in the over and I added a tsp of vanilla with the baking soda, also added a 1/4 cup brown sugar. I didn't add the dry roasted peanuts until candy thermometer reached 280 degress and brought it up to 300 before I added the baking soda and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The first time I made this it was a disaster - it actually tasted burnt but I just made it again today (nothing beats me!) and this time followed the other suggestions and voila! Delicious! Can't wait to have my mom taste it - she's the ultimate test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States