Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This recipe worked very well for someone new to candy making (Me). The only thing that surprised me was it is a small batch. It is more than enough for one person, but I don't think it would be enough for two. (Because it tastes good and you'd have to share. LOL)The candy thermometer is a must for new candy makers like me. Set up the greased pan and ingredients as this recipe dose cook fast and you have to be ready when it is at temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Yep! I made the p-nut brittle it came out gr8 but I agree with one of the viewers. It could definitely used 2 cups of p-nuts. So next X I will use 2 cps. 2 much sugar 4 one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The taste was good but it didn't quite get to the brittle stage even though i cooked the brittle to 300 degrees. It may be because I live in a high altitude climate. I would make it again but raise the temperature to 305 and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for my grandad for his birthday and he loved it! He has been asking for me to make more every couple of weeks! It's super easy to make, just make sure you have a candy thermometer. When adding the peanuts, I wait until the thermometer is around 290 degrees because it can be difficult to stir through when the temperature is at 300. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by richmenz
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made this recipe the way it should be made by the creator. The key to making a great P. Brittle is patience and a candy thermometer!...no kidding!!! Turned out awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is the best! I brought it to my friends and he literally yelled out this is AMAZING. Thanks so much. Btw i have found it takes about 17-18 minutes to get to 300 degrees. I also add 1/4 more peanuts and it turned out great. Thanks so much i would give ten stars if it could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmari554
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I doubled the corn syrup and peanuts, used 1/3c water, 2 1/4 c gran sugar, added unsweetened wide flake coconut. Salt, butter and baking soda was left as recipe called for. If you like coconut, this is very good! Does not last long when set out for the taking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I've been making hard candy for years now and decided to give this a go. This recipe tastes amazing. I added 1 tsp vanilla and otherwise would only change the amount of baking soda to 3/4 or 1/2 tsp the next time I make it because it sticks to your teeth really badly and perhaps wouldn't be so chewy were there less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have done this several times, and it either came out perfect or didn't harden/set then I realized that the times that it didn't set was on rainy days so those of you that gave a 1 star and said it didn't set all I can say is was it raining that day? If it was, maybe that was the problem not the receipt. I don't know if it's the humitity in the air or the drop in barometric pressure but it does seem to affect it in my experience. So if it failed, try again on a sunny day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States