Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great! First time ever making peanut brittle and it turned out GREAT! I used 2.25 cups of peanuts and still could have used a few more nuts! Also, I had the cookie sheet warming in the oven, and then when I had it spread out, I put it back into the oven to let it smooth out even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Had to make it a second time to get it right. Didn't have a thermometer so you have cook the candy until it drizzle off the spoon. Drizzle a little off the spoon into some ice water and its HARD then its ready. I must admit the first batch I used roasted peanuts and when I did the ice water test it, it looked hard but was kind of soft to the touch. hen it cooled, I microwaved it for about 3 minutes then put it back in the fridge. When I tried it, it tasted exactly like a payday candy bar or a snickers without the chocolate so it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! Great recipe, the perfect amount of peanuts. Love it and have added it to my recipe box to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe was amazing. Tasted delicious and just like the kind you buy in candy stores! My family LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have never made Peanut brittle before. This was an interesting experience. I used 1 1/2 cups of unsalted roasted peanuts instead of just 1 cup of regular. I also added about a teaspoon of real vanilla. Also, I did half white sugar and half dark brown for extra favor. It turned out great. My wife could not stop eating it. It was not too hard. I was very impressed. I waited until the temp hit about 200 to 250 before adding the peanuts because I was a fit apprehensive of burning the nuts. Seemed to work very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have never made peanut brittle before and was a little nervous about making it as I have had some candy disasters before. But I shouldn't have worried because this recipe made the best peanut brittle ever! Following the advice of some reviewers I didn't put the peanuts in until around 250 degrees because I didn't want them to burn and I also added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla along with the butter and baking soda after removing it from the heat. These changes made a wonderful tasting brittle that is as good or better than any I have tasted before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe, but I have to admit, I didn't follow it to a T. First of all, I didn't have raw peanuts on hand, so I added them just as the caramel browned perfectly, instead of at the beginning. I also don't have a thermometer, but once you've made a handful of brittles you kind of figure it out. Also, instead of adding the 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the caramel, I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the peanuts along with a generous pinch of cayenne and shook them in a container. (I don't trust too many ingredients in a pot with caramel--sugar gets jealous and crystallizes the whole darn pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made five batches of this in the last few days. They all turned out just great. I do have a suggestion. If you love coconut like I do, try adding some coconut extract instead of vanilla. I use two teaspoons. Also, add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of coconut with the peanuts. I increased the ingredients by 1/2 on everything else. I thought it might be too thick, if I didn't. I also spread one cup of real milk choclate chips on top after it set for a minute or so. Let them sit on top for a few minutes. Take a spoon as spread them out all over the brittle. This is the best Peanut Brittle that I have ever tasted. I used roasted peanuts and I put them in around 280 degrees like others suggested. I also put the coconut in right after that. I think two teaspoons of the baking soda works best. Thanks for all the helpfu hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first experience making peanut brittle, so I spent some time reading the reviews. I opted to add 1tsp of vanilla and an extra 1/2 cup of peanuts. Well, it was a huge success!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I like to substitute the 1c peanuts for, 1/3 c peanuts, 1/3 c almonds, and 1/3 c cashews. Excellent combination. Everyone says this is the best peanut brittle they have ever tasted! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States