Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The same happen to me it never harden what went wrong? As a matter of fact it's chewy and gooey what should I do next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Wonderful. I stirred in the peanuts about 250 degrees. I liked the video that went with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I am new to making this. I learned it was very easy. You HAVE to have a thermometer!! I used Planters Dry Roasted nuts from Sam's Club. I did the recipe exactly. I did take advice from other post and had a pot of boiling water going for the used pot and utensils. And have everything measured and waiting because it will need to go quick. What I used to spread my brittle on, was a new cookies sheet that doesn't need any greasing. Don't be afraid to spread it around, I was the first time and it was to thick. It will spring back and look nice. Once the brittle was hard, I just gently twisted the pan and the brittle popped off. And the back wasn't greasy. I will use this every year during the holidays. Thanks to whomever put it on here. --- Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This holiday, tried 5 other recipes. Even used Alton Brown (Food Network) recipe. Added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon...........whoa. This is the BEST recipe as a base. Might try 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper with the cinnamon for just a little kick. If you are looking for a fool proof, quick, easy peanut brittle recipe........this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, easy to make, just be prepared as other suggested...delicious!!!! My 14 yr old made this for her Christmas gifts to family & friends. I think it will be a tradition!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My first venture with peanut brittle and this is an easy recipe with great flavor. I like my peanut brittle to have those little pockets of air in it and so it's important to not over stir the brittle or "pull the mixture into a rectangle about 14x12" as this recipe suggest. Instead I just pour it into a greased 9x13 pan. If you don't like the air pockets or like a flatter texture brittle, follow the recipe instructions. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Norland

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very easy, great taste. use a candy thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucian

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbonado, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
OMG! So amazing. I've never tried anything like this before, but this recipe seems fool-proof! I took the advice of some of the previous posters and added a tsp of vanilla as well as adding the peanuts once the mix reaches 250 degrees. I also lined a cookie sheet with tin foil and ran a stick of butter over it. Made clean up so simple! I popped the cookie sheet in a warm oven while everything was coming together. It gave me a little more time to work with the mix once I poured it out. I started with a single batch to make sure I could do it...ended up making 2 more. 5 Stars++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at peanut brittle and it came out perfectly! I followed the directions exactly with one exception. I did not add the peanuts until the very end for fear that they would burn. Once the sugar mixture hit the 300 degree mark, I turned off the heat, added the peanuts, gave it a quick stir to blend the peanuts into the mixture and then added the butter/soda which I had waiting in the same dish. It started to clump up immediately and I had a difficult time spreading it on the cookie sheet. I used a cake icing "knife" to spread it, and with some work I got it spread out sufficiently. It set up perfectly, broke apart with ease and tastes SO YUMMY!!! You really need a candy thermometer for this unless you are experienced at candy making. The chemical makeup of the sugar mixture will change at the 300 degree point and I imagine it would be difficult to see with the peanuts in the mix. If it doesn't hit this temperature the molecules in the syrup will not bond properly with the fat (butter) when you add it, and it will not set properly. Also, It changes dramatically immediately upon adding the butter/soda so I recommend having them in the same dish ready to go when the syrup is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States