Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This holiday, tried 5 other recipes. Even used Alton Brown (Food Network) recipe. Added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon...........whoa. This is the BEST recipe as a base. Might try 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper with the cinnamon for just a little kick. If you are looking for a fool proof, quick, easy peanut brittle recipe........this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, easy to make, just be prepared as other suggested...delicious!!!! My 14 yr old made this for her Christmas gifts to family & friends. I think it will be a tradition!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My first venture with peanut brittle and this is an easy recipe with great flavor. I like my peanut brittle to have those little pockets of air in it and so it's important to not over stir the brittle or "pull the mixture into a rectangle about 14x12" as this recipe suggest. Instead I just pour it into a greased 9x13 pan. If you don't like the air pockets or like a flatter texture brittle, follow the recipe instructions. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Norland

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very easy, great taste. use a candy thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucian

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbonado, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
OMG! So amazing. I've never tried anything like this before, but this recipe seems fool-proof! I took the advice of some of the previous posters and added a tsp of vanilla as well as adding the peanuts once the mix reaches 250 degrees. I also lined a cookie sheet with tin foil and ran a stick of butter over it. Made clean up so simple! I popped the cookie sheet in a warm oven while everything was coming together. It gave me a little more time to work with the mix once I poured it out. I started with a single batch to make sure I could do it...ended up making 2 more. 5 Stars++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at peanut brittle and it came out perfectly! I followed the directions exactly with one exception. I did not add the peanuts until the very end for fear that they would burn. Once the sugar mixture hit the 300 degree mark, I turned off the heat, added the peanuts, gave it a quick stir to blend the peanuts into the mixture and then added the butter/soda which I had waiting in the same dish. It started to clump up immediately and I had a difficult time spreading it on the cookie sheet. I used a cake icing "knife" to spread it, and with some work I got it spread out sufficiently. It set up perfectly, broke apart with ease and tastes SO YUMMY!!! You really need a candy thermometer for this unless you are experienced at candy making. The chemical makeup of the sugar mixture will change at the 300 degree point and I imagine it would be difficult to see with the peanuts in the mix. If it doesn't hit this temperature the molecules in the syrup will not bond properly with the fat (butter) when you add it, and it will not set properly. Also, It changes dramatically immediately upon adding the butter/soda so I recommend having them in the same dish ready to go when the syrup is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I loved this recipe , it was fun and easy . The candy turned out just beautiful . will make this every yr that is for sure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a hard candy type recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, except doubled it. Helpful hint - raw peanuts are in the produce aisle, not in the nut aisle! The taste is great, I couldn't stop eating it. I took some to work, and everyone loved it. It did take almost 25 minutes to hit 300 degrees, so be patint and use the candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Super easy! Used 1 1/2 cups peanuts instead of a cup. Preheated the cookie sheet and the brittle spread easily. Thanks for the tips about having the baking soda and butter ready, cause you need to move fast! Also, the temperature moves quickly after it hits 250 so watch carefully! I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States