Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was so quick and easy to make. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and substituted almonds for the peanuts. Delicious! The hardest part was waiting for it to cool enough to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is the best peanut brittle I've ever had! I live in Virginia, so I've had tons of brittles, but this one was perfect on every note--not too buttery, not too sweet, not overly airy or crumbly, and since I did a rounded 1/4tsp, the saltiness was perfect for me too! I don't have a candy thermometer, so I used the cold water test. However, I must say that you can really just go by color. Once it gets to the color that we all know brittle to have, go another minute and you're done. I forgot about the fork tip and I spread with a rubber spatula, which was less than ideal, because I ended up with 2 small holes. Not bad, but not perfect on my part. I spread some Godiva semi sweet baking chocolate and a touch of dark chocolate on half and did a light sprinkling of table salt on top. Yum!!! I think that this is actually better in a 9x12 pan, rather than the suggested one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was quite nice. This is the third peanut brittle recipe I've tried, and I'm still a bit nervous about this stuff. I made it almost exactly as written, using unsalted peanuts, and a little more corn syrup since I was polishing off a bottle. I did use a candy thermometer and I was a little worried about the mixture burning, so I stopped at maybe 290 degrees or so. The results were quite tasty, but I did learn a little lesson. I didn't spread the brittle out as much as the stated 14x12 inches, and I did notice that thick brittle is not nearly as good as what I'm used to. So I may make this again soon - I enjoyed the results anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yummy! I used whole natural almonds (with skin on), toasted slightly in the oven ahead of time for better flavour and chopped in half so they wouldn't be unwieldy. I also used coconut oil instead of butter so it would be pareve (kosher, non-dairy) and the oil didn't blend so well with the sugar mixture, but I've had the same problem with butter in the past, so I'll have to work on that. I have used this baking soda technique to make sponge toffee, so the basic method was familiar already. You definitely have to spread it quickly - in future, I may spread the nuts evenly on the pan and then pour the mixture over them. Easy and delicious last-minute treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is also my mom's best peanut brittle, she made it several times a year. Some stores carry more raw peanuts at Christmas and reduce the price after the holidays. They can be stored in the freezer for a year. Recently my mother died and for her memorial luncheon we are making her peanut brittle and other goodies along with printed copies of the recipes. naspencer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent recipe! So easy to make, and it came out perfect. My family couldn't stop eating it. I'll have to make another batch soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Philster
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe is perfect! I used Planters Dry Roast peanuts for it and it turned out so yummy! This was my first attempt at making candy. I blew it the first try because I didn't have a candy thermometer and relied on the alternate testing method, and misjudged that it was done. It turned out chewy rather than crunchy. The second attempt was perfect. Get a candy thermometer like I ended up doing - it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is good, but next time I will use dark corn syrup instead of the light one to give it more color. Since I used salted peanuts, I omitted the salt. Add the peanuts at the end. I also warm up the cookie sheet lined with silicon liner. I forgot the vanilla as suggested by other reviewers but still taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was really good! I had never made brittle before. I was terrified to try it because it's one of those things that's really easy to make... and really easy to ruin :P So I manned up and tried it with chopped pecans instead of peanuts. I surprised myself and DID'NT burn it and everyone loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States