Mom's Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Very nice flavor, tasted great, but it crumbled (a lot) even after I let it stand before serving. Too "bready". I didn't have tomato juice, left it out. With a little tweaking this can be an awesome recipe. A really great base to get started overall. I'll probably make this one again, doubling the glaze, cutting back on the bread, or adding another 1/3 lb of meat, omitting the tomato juice, and using a casserole dish and shaping a loaf as cook time needed to be longer with the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
We thought this was ok, but prefer my usual meatloaf recipe. It is worth trying if you are looking for a good basic meatloaf dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Excellent recipe! I actually was looking for a good "base" recipe for use w/ ground venison & this fit that bill nicely! The "trigger" ingredient was the liquid smoke. I also added 1/4 cup more onions, a clove of crushed garlic & 1 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce as per other reviews. I substituted diced tomatoes for the juice, as that's all I had on hand (it was fine). Due to the use of venison, I added 2+ Tbs of bacon grease & an additional egg. (The kids all used ketchup on it, because they always do, but we adults did not.) I like a "brown-gravy" based meatloaf vs. tomatoe based, which is why I gave it 4 of 5 stars. The rest of the family gave it 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe, Carolyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Family loved it! Especialy my husband who is a big meat and potatoes guy. I realy liked the taste and texture that the different grains gave to the meatloaf. thanks for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaiscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I have made this 5 times in 2 months and it never gets old. This is probably the best meatloaf recipe I have ever had. The only tweak I added was 1 1/2 cups of chopped red/orange/yellow/green peppers. I suggest you try it original before experimenting, you will NOT be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I had been searching high and low for a meatloaf that would blow my mind and this was it! It was amazing! It just melts in your mouth! Best meat loaf I ever had. My girlfriend and I made it for my grandmother and it was the best she'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I didn't like it, but the rest of the family did,so it gets 3 stars. I think the topping was too sweet and the meat was mushy, really mushy. It needed something, so next time I will add more seasonings. My 5 year old said the topping was too *spicy*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I put the sauce ingredients in the loaf instead, since my family is not big on gravy or sauces. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was an OK meat loaf but was a little bland. May try again with more onion, a little garlic powder and some Worchestershire sauce to "up" the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I've been making this meatloaf for years and everyone I make it for seems to love it. It's the only meatloaf I'll eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States