Mom's Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
We thought this was ok, but prefer my usual meatloaf recipe. It is worth trying if you are looking for a good basic meatloaf dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Excellent recipe! I actually was looking for a good "base" recipe for use w/ ground venison & this fit that bill nicely! The "trigger" ingredient was the liquid smoke. I also added 1/4 cup more onions, a clove of crushed garlic & 1 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce as per other reviews. I substituted diced tomatoes for the juice, as that's all I had on hand (it was fine). Due to the use of venison, I added 2+ Tbs of bacon grease & an additional egg. (The kids all used ketchup on it, because they always do, but we adults did not.) I like a "brown-gravy" based meatloaf vs. tomatoe based, which is why I gave it 4 of 5 stars. The rest of the family gave it 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe, Carolyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Family loved it! Especialy my husband who is a big meat and potatoes guy. I realy liked the taste and texture that the different grains gave to the meatloaf. thanks for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaiscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I have made this 5 times in 2 months and it never gets old. This is probably the best meatloaf recipe I have ever had. The only tweak I added was 1 1/2 cups of chopped red/orange/yellow/green peppers. I suggest you try it original before experimenting, you will NOT be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I had been searching high and low for a meatloaf that would blow my mind and this was it! It was amazing! It just melts in your mouth! Best meat loaf I ever had. My girlfriend and I made it for my grandmother and it was the best she'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I didn't like it, but the rest of the family did,so it gets 3 stars. I think the topping was too sweet and the meat was mushy, really mushy. It needed something, so next time I will add more seasonings. My 5 year old said the topping was too *spicy*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I put the sauce ingredients in the loaf instead, since my family is not big on gravy or sauces. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was an OK meat loaf but was a little bland. May try again with more onion, a little garlic powder and some Worchestershire sauce to "up" the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I've been making this meatloaf for years and everyone I make it for seems to love it. It's the only meatloaf I'll eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This meatloaf was very good. I had to make some changes, for ingredients I didn't have. I used tomato sauce instead of juice. I used cracker meal instead of corn meal. It still turned out great. My family didn't even use ketchup when they ate it, which is a first!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States