Mom's Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was good - didn't blow our socks off, but I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Recipe was great (although I omitted the corn meal-only because I personally don't care for it). Before placing meatloaf in the loaf pan I patted it into a rectangle and put shredded cheese down the middle, rolled it up and patted it into the pan and baked as stated. Nice surprise inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
THE VERY BEST!!! I won't make any other meatloaf now!! Worth the time to put the extra ingredients in. FABULOUS!!! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent, we would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
The flavor is nice but it is far too moist, I even used tomato sauce instead of juice and it was still too wet. Fell completely apart instead of being able to cut into slices. Also had too much filler. Next time I will keep the tomato sauce, skip the water and cut bread crumbs in half. I would suggest making a loaf and cooking in a lasagna pan so that the grease can drain away. Update: I originally rated a 3 as it was too moist. I think the problem was that I used storebought breadcrumbs. Have to change it to 5, which is how it came out with modifications due to not using homemade breadcrumbs. (half the breadcrumbs, sauce instead of juice, and no water) The topping is amazing, even if you use a different recipe, you must try the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
The flavor was fantastic but I found the meatloaf to be a little too moist, almost wet. I think next time I'll try tomato paste instead of juice, or maybe just omit the water. I used bacon on top instead of the glaze, because meatloaf without bacon is just un-American :) Overall great recipe, try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Um, I loved this loaf. It tasted so delicious and thank goodness, because I had taken the risk of making it last year for Christmas dinner with friends. Thankfully, they all and I mean all 10 of them loved it. We're still talking about it. Thanks a million for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
i followed the recipe exactly. it seemed to taste more like the fillers than meat.. my husband liked it but agreed about the fillers.. just kinda bland if you dont get a top piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Zaininger Titus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I will have to make this over because, after changing the serving size smaller since there is only a few of us eating, the amount of water and tomato juice it called for totally turned it into a muddy substance that never thickened. So we ordered pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I always thought MY mom's meatloaf was the best. Don't know your mom, but she has created the perfect meatloaf. Very delicious! Cooked it for my family, when we sat down to eat I received an important phone call, when I came back to the table all the meatloaf was gone! I only got one bite! Will have to try it again soon so that I may enjoy it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardendale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States