Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It went over very well with all! Got allot of compliments! Love it.. Thanks Spiderella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is the best macaroni salad I've ever had. I usually like macaroni salad, but always find I can't have too much of it because the mayo is so overpowering. Not in this! It is wonderfully dressed; sweet but still tangy. The only thing I omitted was the sugar and that was after I tasted it just before adding the pasta. Like many others I found it perfectly sweet with just the condensed milk. I used garden rotini for the color factor. I only needed 3 carrots, personally, but I didn't think they were overly large, I just think four would've been a lot after I shredded them. I only used half of a red onion, but I think I could've used the whole thing and been fine, but I did have some fresh sweet onions from the garden I needed to use up so I had about a 1/4 cup of that. I used red, green, AND orange peppers, again for color. The celery is the only thing I measured, but would probably add an extra half+ cup more of it next time. I might try olives next time, but I don't care too much for them. Other than that, I think you can use whatever veggies you would like and have no problems. The dressing would probably be good on a regular salad, too, or even a sandwich, it is THAT delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was indescribably good. My whole family enjoyed it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
made this on 8/4/14 as written with the exception of not adding the 1/2 cup of sugar due to others suggestions and it was great perfect amount of sweetness so in my recipe I am writing optional next to the 1/2 cup of white sugar I agree that the sweetened condensed milk makes it sweet enough great recipe love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Best macaroni salad I've had! Lots of requests for the recipe. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Love this recipe. Omitted the sugar and used 1/4 of the condensed milk. Was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made this yesterday and served it today. Fiance's exact words, "That mac salad was amazing. I think it's the best I ever had." I'm not a huge mac salad fan, but he is. And I did like it too! I was scared by the amount of sugar this recipe said to add. I did as many other reviewers did and omitted the sugar. In fact, I didn't even add all the condensed milk! I added probably 2/3 of a can. I added a lot of pepper and salt and it was delicious! My recommendation would be to go light on the milk and no sugar, then continue to add to your taste. One other note, it's very "soupy" when you first make it. Stir a few times during the next 8-12+ hours and it really creams/thickens up nicely! Def make a day ahead of time as the flavors really come together well!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Awesome I did not add sugar as other suggested and added dry mustard, powdered garlic, and peperika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was so yummy and simple! I've made many pasta salads, but this had the perfect blend of flavors. Adding this to my monthly recipes! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
No one liked it. To sweet. It was not worth the effort. Too much sauce. never making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konrad Schneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States