Mom's Best Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have been looking for a good granola recipe, and this is it! I did, however, have problems cooking it--mine was done in about 30 minutes. My oven is from 1962 or something, so it probably doesn't heat properly. After cooking the granola, this recipe is HIGHLY customizable. All in all, a delightful recipe and I will definately be making it again (and again and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good! I added cranraisins, half with coconut and two cookie sheets were used. Cooked @ 275 for 40 minutes doubled the"liquid" items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars...the recipe itself is wonderful....however...it does NOT take 60-90 minutes to cook. I cut the salt in half due to the fact I used salted sunflower seeds...I didn't find sesame seeds so I couldn't use them...no big. I have made granola MANY times and know from experience to check it and STIR it every 15 minutes...go every 30 and it may burn and be ruined. I also used extra coconut because I LOVE it...and after it was done baking and cool I added dried cherries chopped in half to quarter pieces. **any fruit can be used..dates, raisins anything really** So...I can say I will keep this one in my book and use many times. THANK YOU for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Tasty, and not too sweet (which I like!). I divided the recipe between two cookie sheets, and I always bake my granola at a very low temperature, which gets it nice and crispy without burning. I baked this at 225 degrees for 1 hour 45 minutes, switching racks every 30 minutes. At this temperature, there is no need to stir with each switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this granola. It was crunchy and just perfectly sweet. I added flax seed and dried fruit during the last 10 minutes of baking. What a treat! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe is very good. I like it because you can add what you like and it is not too sweet. Like many of the other reviewers, I didn't cook it for the 60-90 minutes. I cooked it at 325 for 15 minutes and then just turned the oven off. It turned out perfect! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Fabulous base recipe- add what you like or have on hand. Makes a good batch of granola at a fraction of the cost of prepackaged kind. Tastes much better too. I did decrease the bake time and added blueberries (yum). THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have made this multiple times, and its amazing, although I don't use the wheat germ or sunflower seeds. I wouldn't bake for 60-90 minutes, I bake it for about 8-10 minutes at 325, and it comes out lightly browned, any more and it burns & is very hard to get off the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious - I made a big batch for an event at church and it was a huge hit. So I made it again for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this granola and really loved it. I omitted the sesame seeds. I think baking it for an hour is quite long, my first batch was burned. I cut it down to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and it was perfect. I used dried cherries..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States