Mom's Best Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
A great starting off place to make your own signature granola. I gave 4 stars vs 5 as the cooking directions call for baking way to long in my opinion. Mine was nearly over done after 45 minutes and stirring / checking every 15. I added dried cranberries and blueberries after it cooled. Great as cereal with milk or as topping for yogurt for breakfast or snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Super easy recipe and ingredients you have on hand. I did use a 300 degree oven and it worked great. It's a dry granola recipe, just like we like it. I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent granola- light, flavorful, and everything that I'd hoped it would be! The boiling water threw me, at first, but now I see that it helps to spread out the sweeteners, so that you can use less fat and sugars than other recipes. I baked it at 300F, stirring every 20 minutes, for an hour, and it turned out fantastic. This is going to be my go-to from now on. Thanks so much, IAMJENNIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Best Granola ever. I have added flax seeds and walnuts. I measure generously. I used a full cup of hot water. Honey, brown sugar, vanilla, water and oil, the 2 cup measure filled to the brim. I stir the mixture to syrup, prevents crystallizing while cooking. Ten minutes between stirring in the oven, the last is only about five minutes. Kids come home and beg for a quart ziplock full to take with them. I had tried for years to get my family to make granola a regular part of the household diet. This is the only recipe that they love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
As many others have found this is best baked at 225 degrees for 1 hour 30-45 minutes, switching racks every 30 minutes or so. I also omit the brown sugar (honey is plenty of sweetness for me!) and coconut, and add walnuts and pecans only. After removing from the oven I add whatever fruit I want (raisins, cranberries, dates, cherries, etc) as I've found adding them before baking makes the fruit dry and rock hard. Great basic recipe to add your own person touches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I'm giving thus recipe five stars because it is really a great flexible recipe. After making this several times I have personalized it by adding fruits such as sultanas, dried cherries, currants, and/or cranberries. I have also substituted speltflakes for a cup of the oats, and pecans for the almonds, and added pumkin seeds. You can use whatever you have on hand. Most importantly, I cut the temperature to 300 degrees and stir twice after 20 minutes, and then after about another 20 minutes, then give it another 10 if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Next time I'll halve the recipe. This makes a lot of granola, which made it hard to mix and cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good! I added cranraisins, half with coconut and two cookie sheets were used. Cooked @ 275 for 40 minutes doubled the"liquid" items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious - I made a big batch for an event at church and it was a huge hit. So I made it again for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this granola. It was crunchy and just perfectly sweet. I added flax seed and dried fruit during the last 10 minutes of baking. What a treat! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States