Mom's Best Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I used a can of mixed nuts and left out the salt. Don't get excited and cut into it right away. It needs to sit at least 24 hours before you cut into it -- even longer if you can possibly resist. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jomomma
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Best fruitcake ever!!! Never made one so easy and it came out perfect 2 hours ago and it's half eaten already. I used pecans, Cherries and pineapple then I added a touch of cinnamon . It was fantastic almost exactly like the Corsicana fruitcake company and those are 23.00 each. I will make this for Christmas presents next year in little loaf pans. Even if you don't like fruitcake just try this one with your favorite fruit. It is so healthy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This really is the best fruitcake. I've tired with the regular recipe and pecans rather than brazil nuts; fantastic. Perfect blend of fruit with just enough cake to hold it together. I've also modified the recipe and used dried pineapple, papaya, shredded coconut with almonds for an Hawaiian flavor. The recipe is very forgiving of what kind of fruits and nuts to use, so go ahead and get creative. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
this fruitcake is so good! we can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My first fruitcake attempt and it turned out well. It was a little dry; but I may have overbaked it. As a remedy, I wrapped in cheesecloth soaked in apple juice for several days and it moistened up fine. I substituted walnuts for the Brazil nuts. My husband and mother, both fruitcake fanatics, really enjoyed it...especially since it was homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Liked it very much, but changed the nuts. I don't like brazil nuts, so I put walnuts in. I also made small cakes to give as gifts to my mail carrier, trash man, paper women and Schwan man. I also printed out the recipe for them. They were all excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe, but next time I will use a little less nuts and a citrus mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This being my first fruitcake, I really didn't know what to expect. I didn't add as much fruit as the recipe said and it came out great. Nice mellow flavor. Let set for a week or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is the best fruitcake ever! It's the kind of fruitcake I grew up with, and I had been searching for this recipe for a long time. The nuts really make the cake -- very crunchy and chewy and dense. Beautiful to look at too, each slice like a stained-glass window. The first time I made this, I ate half a loaf in one sitting -- it is that irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
make one of these without alcohol for the kids. My grandchildren like this as well as fruit cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea Gassman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States