Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
My whole family of five loved this one. I added Cavendar's seasoning blend to the meat before cooking and only used about 1/2 of the onion called for. I also added carrots and they were a nice addition. We ate this over mashed potatoes with garlic texas toast - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something different to cook tonight and came across this. I didn't have any dill or rosemary, so i just went without it. I did add celery and carrots to the onion and garlic combo. After that got clear and almost browned and I added everything else to the pan. But wait...there's more...I also added a drained can of peas & carrots and I cut large dices of potatoes. . and I added two beef bouillion cubes.... The consistency is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I cooked this last night and my husband absolutely LOVED it!! He almost made himself sick because he couldn't stop eating!! I used about 2lbs of beef stew meat and 18oz of beer. I didn't have any minced garlic so I used garlic powder and a little garlic salt. I thought the combination was wonderful served over mashed potatoes. A very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
made this last night and had it tonight for dinner the meat was lovely and tender (i let it simmer for 2 1/2 hours)both my partner and i loved it this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The flavor was excellent, and very simple to make. It would stick less if you added a roux after the meat has simmered for at least an hour. I used garlic powder since I didn't have fresh. I love the flavor of rosemary, but it can easily over-power. So, I used a sprig of fresh rosemary while cooking, but removed it before serving. As there is nothing to this but meat, onions and gravy, I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I was skeptical, but this was wonderful. Served over mashed potatoes and added frozen carrots. I used cube steak on accident, so probably didn't need to cook so long, but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Delicious! Great over garlic mashed potatoes and did add the carrots. Suggestion for the sauce: serve with fresh rolls/buns to soak up sauce or serve sauce in gravy boat and spoon the gravy with onions on fresh or toasted baguette slices. Didn't have dill in the house so omitted (but would like to try it with) and used 1 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Make sure the rosemary is not ground; it's perfect using dried rosemary.) Served the beef cubes to my daughter's VERY picky friend and she liked it!!! (Of course I had to serve the mashed potatoes separately with no sauce on it and give her raw julienned carrots instead of cooked - but finally something she will eat at our house instead of cheese pizza!) Make sure to keep stirring because it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I absolutely adored this recipe. And, as most stews are, it was way better the following day. I added a lot of garlic powder, as I lacked dill. It gave it a lovely flavour. I also added a lot more salt. I also cooked this for about 2 hours, and the meat was incredibly tender. I added baby carrots, and wish I had added potatoes as well... next time I suppose! I liked this served in a bowl, without mashed potatoes. We had the taters, but we really didn't need them. I used a honey ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent combination of the beer with the different spices. Goes well with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tali H. R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shilo, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
So yummy! This is now in the regular rotation at our house. I go easy on the rosemary as my husband doesn't like "weeds" in his food. It is so good that someone at the table licked their plate clean (I will not tell who)! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States