Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I absolutely adored this recipe. And, as most stews are, it was way better the following day. I added a lot of garlic powder, as I lacked dill. It gave it a lovely flavour. I also added a lot more salt. I also cooked this for about 2 hours, and the meat was incredibly tender. I added baby carrots, and wish I had added potatoes as well... next time I suppose! I liked this served in a bowl, without mashed potatoes. We had the taters, but we really didn't need them. I used a honey ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made this yesterday for dinner and really enjoyed it. I did do some changes. I added extra garlic, more beer, less onions and extra salt and pepper. I made it in the morning and just warmed it up, served over mashed Yukon Gold potatoes with a big slab of French Bread. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was pretty good, though a little heavy on the rosemary. I had just over 2 pounds of beef, so I proportioned everything to a 6 serving amount. Even though it takes awhile to cook, it's actually pretty easy. I cut up 2 top round steaks which had very little fat, subbed dried parsely and garlic powder, and added carrots for the last 45 minutes. We ate it with mashed potatoes. I used Black Butte Porter for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Good stuff. I went a little heavy on the garlic because I didn't have dill. I threw in a couple potatoes as well. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RocketScientist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Delicious! Great over garlic mashed potatoes and did add the carrots. Suggestion for the sauce: serve with fresh rolls/buns to soak up sauce or serve sauce in gravy boat and spoon the gravy with onions on fresh or toasted baguette slices. Didn't have dill in the house so omitted (but would like to try it with) and used 1 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Make sure the rosemary is not ground; it's perfect using dried rosemary.) Served the beef cubes to my daughter's VERY picky friend and she liked it!!! (Of course I had to serve the mashed potatoes separately with no sauce on it and give her raw julienned carrots instead of cooked - but finally something she will eat at our house instead of cheese pizza!) Make sure to keep stirring because it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something different to cook tonight and came across this. I didn't have any dill or rosemary, so i just went without it. I did add celery and carrots to the onion and garlic combo. After that got clear and almost browned and I added everything else to the pan. But wait...there's more...I also added a drained can of peas & carrots and I cut large dices of potatoes. . and I added two beef bouillion cubes.... The consistency is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was pretty darn good. I added carrots and celery and used 3 large garlic cloves. Only used 1/2 a large onion and it was plenty. I replaced the water with beef broth and I threw everything in the crock pot for the day. Served over mashed potatoes, which was very nice. It needed something to thicken it up a bit. Great dinner to come home to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I thought this recipe to be very good. Next time I will add potatos and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherbug82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
So yummy! This is now in the regular rotation at our house. I go easy on the rosemary as my husband doesn't like "weeds" in his food. It is so good that someone at the table licked their plate clean (I will not tell who)! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The flavor was excellent, and very simple to make. It would stick less if you added a roux after the meat has simmered for at least an hour. I used garlic powder since I didn't have fresh. I love the flavor of rosemary, but it can easily over-power. So, I used a sprig of fresh rosemary while cooking, but removed it before serving. As there is nothing to this but meat, onions and gravy, I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States