Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was pretty good, though a little heavy on the rosemary. I had just over 2 pounds of beef, so I proportioned everything to a 6 serving amount. Even though it takes awhile to cook, it's actually pretty easy. I cut up 2 top round steaks which had very little fat, subbed dried parsely and garlic powder, and added carrots for the last 45 minutes. We ate it with mashed potatoes. I used Black Butte Porter for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I was skeptical, but this was wonderful. Served over mashed potatoes and added frozen carrots. I used cube steak on accident, so probably didn't need to cook so long, but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Delicious! Great over garlic mashed potatoes and did add the carrots. Suggestion for the sauce: serve with fresh rolls/buns to soak up sauce or serve sauce in gravy boat and spoon the gravy with onions on fresh or toasted baguette slices. Didn't have dill in the house so omitted (but would like to try it with) and used 1 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Make sure the rosemary is not ground; it's perfect using dried rosemary.) Served the beef cubes to my daughter's VERY picky friend and she liked it!!! (Of course I had to serve the mashed potatoes separately with no sauce on it and give her raw julienned carrots instead of cooked - but finally something she will eat at our house instead of cheese pizza!) Make sure to keep stirring because it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I absolutely adored this recipe. And, as most stews are, it was way better the following day. I added a lot of garlic powder, as I lacked dill. It gave it a lovely flavour. I also added a lot more salt. I also cooked this for about 2 hours, and the meat was incredibly tender. I added baby carrots, and wish I had added potatoes as well... next time I suppose! I liked this served in a bowl, without mashed potatoes. We had the taters, but we really didn't need them. I used a honey ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made it using a dark winter ale beer, it was very bitter and strong, totally ruined. Will try again w/the right beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Served it with a big hunk of garlic bread to mop up the gravy. The meat itself was very tender, but my husband and I felt like the sauce was lacking something overall--more salt? Just didn't have a depth to it, but it did have a lot of rosemary taste. The reason we gave it four instead of three stars is because the sauce might have been negatively impacted by using O'Doul's instead of "real" beer. Next time may try adding more veggies beyond onions, using a deeper flavor beer and perhaps some garlic salt, and making this more of a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent combination of the beer with the different spices. Goes well with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tali H. R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shilo, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I just made this for dinner tonight and I really enjoyed it. The beef turned out so lovely. My husband loved it as well. We did both decide that there should be less onion and more beer. The gravy was a bit thin but that might have been down to me not converting the measurements correctly. I also added potatoes which was really nice. I used Stella Artois because my husband isnt really a big beer drinker and loves Stella. Turned out lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Didn't have much flavor. I don't think I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made this yesterday for dinner and really enjoyed it. I did do some changes. I added extra garlic, more beer, less onions and extra salt and pepper. I made it in the morning and just warmed it up, served over mashed Yukon Gold potatoes with a big slab of French Bread. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States