Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had to tweak this a little due to onion allergies, so I used extra garlic, added a little worchestire & red wine, and used only 2 T of flour adding cornstarch later and it was great. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I thought this recipe to be very good. Next time I will add potatos and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherbug82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was pretty darn good. I added carrots and celery and used 3 large garlic cloves. Only used 1/2 a large onion and it was plenty. I replaced the water with beef broth and I threw everything in the crock pot for the day. Served over mashed potatoes, which was very nice. It needed something to thicken it up a bit. Great dinner to come home to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and we didn't like it at all. It needs all those additions other reviewers mentioned because alone it had way too much rosemary and really not a good flavor, and usually I love beef and beer stew. The texture was not nice either. I am sorry to be so negative but if someone is considering this recipe they should be willing to change it up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was pretty good. Just be prepared for your house to smell like beer for a few hours. Most of my family liked it. I may try it again. I served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I only had 1 lb. of stew meat so I halved the rest of the recipe. Just before serving, I used corn starch to thicken the gravy and added more salt and pepper for flavor. Then I served it over rice. The meat was very tender and had a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
My whole family of five loved this one. I added Cavendar's seasoning blend to the meat before cooking and only used about 1/2 of the onion called for. I also added carrots and they were a nice addition. We ate this over mashed potatoes with garlic texas toast - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This did cook up with a nice gravy and it did thicken up while cooking which was surprising to me. We did find it kind of bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made this yesterday for dinner and really enjoyed it. I did do some changes. I added extra garlic, more beer, less onions and extra salt and pepper. I made it in the morning and just warmed it up, served over mashed Yukon Gold potatoes with a big slab of French Bread. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Didn't have much flavor. I don't think I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States