Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had to tweak this a little due to onion allergies, so I used extra garlic, added a little worchestire & red wine, and used only 2 T of flour adding cornstarch later and it was great. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I thought this recipe to be very good. Next time I will add potatos and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherbug82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was pretty darn good. I added carrots and celery and used 3 large garlic cloves. Only used 1/2 a large onion and it was plenty. I replaced the water with beef broth and I threw everything in the crock pot for the day. Served over mashed potatoes, which was very nice. It needed something to thicken it up a bit. Great dinner to come home to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and we didn't like it at all. It needs all those additions other reviewers mentioned because alone it had way too much rosemary and really not a good flavor, and usually I love beef and beer stew. The texture was not nice either. I am sorry to be so negative but if someone is considering this recipe they should be willing to change it up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was pretty good. Just be prepared for your house to smell like beer for a few hours. Most of my family liked it. I may try it again. I served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I only had 1 lb. of stew meat so I halved the rest of the recipe. Just before serving, I used corn starch to thicken the gravy and added more salt and pepper for flavor. Then I served it over rice. The meat was very tender and had a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
My whole family of five loved this one. I added Cavendar's seasoning blend to the meat before cooking and only used about 1/2 of the onion called for. I also added carrots and they were a nice addition. We ate this over mashed potatoes with garlic texas toast - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This did cook up with a nice gravy and it did thicken up while cooking which was surprising to me. We did find it kind of bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I made this yesterday for dinner and really enjoyed it. I did do some changes. I added extra garlic, more beer, less onions and extra salt and pepper. I made it in the morning and just warmed it up, served over mashed Yukon Gold potatoes with a big slab of French Bread. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Didn't have much flavor. I don't think I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States