Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Don't know if the beer really added much flavor to the stew, but it was still a good meal. Also added about 1/2t of thyme and marojam, along with a bay leaf. Cooked some diced carrots with the beef and ate with mashed potatos. Nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
So yummy! This is now in the regular rotation at our house. I go easy on the rosemary as my husband doesn't like "weeds" in his food. It is so good that someone at the table licked their plate clean (I will not tell who)! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
good stuff for filling the old belly. Add potatoes and carrots. Two beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I used cube steak. Then added carrots and potatoes as a pot roast. Had to add some corn starch to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The flavor was excellent, and very simple to make. It would stick less if you added a roux after the meat has simmered for at least an hour. I used garlic powder since I didn't have fresh. I love the flavor of rosemary, but it can easily over-power. So, I used a sprig of fresh rosemary while cooking, but removed it before serving. As there is nothing to this but meat, onions and gravy, I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something different to cook tonight and came across this. I didn't have any dill or rosemary, so i just went without it. I did add celery and carrots to the onion and garlic combo. After that got clear and almost browned and I added everything else to the pan. But wait...there's more...I also added a drained can of peas & carrots and I cut large dices of potatoes. . and I added two beef bouillion cubes.... The consistency is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
made this last night and had it tonight for dinner the meat was lovely and tender (i let it simmer for 2 1/2 hours)both my partner and i loved it this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I cooked this last night and my husband absolutely LOVED it!! He almost made himself sick because he couldn't stop eating!! I used about 2lbs of beef stew meat and 18oz of beer. I didn't have any minced garlic so I used garlic powder and a little garlic salt. I thought the combination was wonderful served over mashed potatoes. A very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Good stuff. I went a little heavy on the garlic because I didn't have dill. I threw in a couple potatoes as well. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RocketScientist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This tasted very good, but next time I need to add some veggies to the stew as it cooks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Ivey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Solon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States