Mom's Barbeque Style Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I didn't add bell pepper, and didn't change a thing! Awesome, So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a great way to use up the last of the Thanksgiving turkey! My young kids thought it was a variation of my BBQ pork and I didn't argue because they ate it up. (They aren't big fans of turkey.) A nice change from a white/cream soup based recipe. I left out the green peppers (knew they wouldn't go over well with the under 9 crowd) and then substituted one Tbs. molasses and 2 Tbs. white sugar for the brown sugar (because I didn't realize I was out until I went for the sugar). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVEELANE
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. The sauce had a nice flavor. The only thing I changed was no celery and I added about 1/4 cup water. I would have liked more sauce for the 4 cups turkey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used red bell pepper -- but otherwise did not change a thing. We really liked it -- maybe I'll try it with ground turkey or beef as a sloppy Joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was awesome! A great way to use leftover turkey without feeling like you're eating leftovers. I added a couple tablespoons of red wine vinegar because I love the flavour it adds to barbeque sauce. I served them in whole wheat pitas with spinach and some grated cheese. Thanks for the recipe, Katie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good flavor! Good way to use up those leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Awesome! Loved it! Made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
My best turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this was easy, and good. Nice change for something to do with leftover turkey. The longer you let simmer, the better. My son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was better than I thought. I used about half the butter to cook the onion and celery. Didn't have green pepper either. Also, I only simmered for about half the time. I think I may try this with cooked chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanhelbla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States