Mom's Barbeque Style Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
THIS ROCKED!! What a refreshing change for leftover turkey. By about the 3rd day of leftover turkey, you want something that doesn't taste like turkey and this is it. I served it over leftover hot dog buns that I buttered and turned into garlic bread. It tasted tangy and a good BBQ flavor. My husband LOVED it and wants to make another batch with the rest of the leftover turkey to freeze for another time. I will cook this anytime I have leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Great idea for leftover turkey, an easy meal indeed! I like my bbq meat really saucy, so I needed to double the sauce part in order to get the desired consistency. I also added a splash of red wind vinegar and some thyme and sage (always a must w/turkey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This was surprisingly tasty. I made a few minor tweeks and doubled the sauce, reduced the worcestershire to half of what it calls for and added 3/4 cup of vinegar for some tang. Very good with these modifications...at least to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was awesome! A great way to use leftover turkey without feeling like you're eating leftovers. I added a couple tablespoons of red wine vinegar because I love the flavour it adds to barbeque sauce. I served them in whole wheat pitas with spinach and some grated cheese. Thanks for the recipe, Katie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This seemed almost like BBQ shredded beef. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVEELANE
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. The sauce had a nice flavor. The only thing I changed was no celery and I added about 1/4 cup water. I would have liked more sauce for the 4 cups turkey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used red bell pepper -- but otherwise did not change a thing. We really liked it -- maybe I'll try it with ground turkey or beef as a sloppy Joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was better than I thought. I used about half the butter to cook the onion and celery. Didn't have green pepper either. Also, I only simmered for about half the time. I think I may try this with cooked chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanhelbla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I didn't add bell pepper, and didn't change a thing! Awesome, So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a great way to use up the last of the Thanksgiving turkey! My young kids thought it was a variation of my BBQ pork and I didn't argue because they ate it up. (They aren't big fans of turkey.) A nice change from a white/cream soup based recipe. I left out the green peppers (knew they wouldn't go over well with the under 9 crowd) and then substituted one Tbs. molasses and 2 Tbs. white sugar for the brown sugar (because I didn't realize I was out until I went for the sugar). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States