Mom's Barbeque Style Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I didn't add bell pepper, and didn't change a thing! Awesome, So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a great way to use up the last of the Thanksgiving turkey! My young kids thought it was a variation of my BBQ pork and I didn't argue because they ate it up. (They aren't big fans of turkey.) A nice change from a white/cream soup based recipe. I left out the green peppers (knew they wouldn't go over well with the under 9 crowd) and then substituted one Tbs. molasses and 2 Tbs. white sugar for the brown sugar (because I didn't realize I was out until I went for the sugar). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVEELANE
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. The sauce had a nice flavor. The only thing I changed was no celery and I added about 1/4 cup water. I would have liked more sauce for the 4 cups turkey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used red bell pepper -- but otherwise did not change a thing. We really liked it -- maybe I'll try it with ground turkey or beef as a sloppy Joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was awesome! A great way to use leftover turkey without feeling like you're eating leftovers. I added a couple tablespoons of red wine vinegar because I love the flavour it adds to barbeque sauce. I served them in whole wheat pitas with spinach and some grated cheese. Thanks for the recipe, Katie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good flavor! Good way to use up those leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Awesome! Loved it! Made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
My best turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this was easy, and good. Nice change for something to do with leftover turkey. The longer you let simmer, the better. My son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was better than I thought. I used about half the butter to cook the onion and celery. Didn't have green pepper either. Also, I only simmered for about half the time. I think I may try this with cooked chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanhelbla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States