Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Excellent! I have also used chilled bacon grease I save for pie crusts. I used 1/2 bacon grease and 1/2 Crisco. MMMMM good nice variation. The Biscuit browns much better than when using just butter/margarine to top. It also adds that needed touch of "flavor", that I noticed some reviewers said was the only missing puzzle piece. These were much like the Biscuits that Gram made, using the bacon grease incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
A very simple approach to a humble recipe. Delightful. Came out great, except I only got a dozen and a half biscuits out of it. I'll scale up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Simple, easy and delicious what any recipe should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These biscuits were great. Followed the recipe but I used butter instead of shortening. My family and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! My hubby and kids love it too! They come out with a beautiful crusty outside and wonderful inside. I've made these multiple times, and like varying the recipe by adding a little garlic powder sometimes. As has been said in other reviews, do not overwork the dough or you will end up with hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilsgarden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gatesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very simple I changed milk out with sour cream and heavy cream. Also used cold butter for the fat and added a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjballofsunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe dozens of times and they always turn out perfect. The only thing I changed was using butter over shortening for extra flavor. The only thing I dislike is it doesn't yield very many, I usually need to double the recipe in order to get at least a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have never made good biscuits until I made these. I used organic flour, sea salt and butter. These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Not like mamma used to make but as close as I have been able to find. This is a great starter recipe for you to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
While not my favorite biscuit (I tend to prefer buttermilk biscuits) this is a decent biscuit nonetheless. Not that I had any problem using shortening, but I used butter instead - mainly because I already conveniently had a 5 T. stick cut in the fridge. Grating that with a box grater into the flour mixture made this come together lickety-split. I did find I had to add a little extra milk to make the dough come together. I did not dip the biscuits in melted shortening. Rather, I brushed them with melted butter once they were hot out of the oven. Both butter and the right amount of salt resulted in good flavor, and I really loved the sort of crispy/crunchy bottoms. Nice and soft, but perhaps not as fluffy as they could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States