Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
this is a wonderful recipe ! The taste is great! My family really enjoyed it . Thanks so much Jodeen for sharing it with everyone ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
my fiance's family is from the south and he asked me if i could make biscuits. i tried thid recipe, and he said they were just like his grandmothers! this recipe is very easy. dont get scared that these biscuits are lumpy, they are supposed to be! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleCrumb.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because they are easy to make and taste great, they came out crusty on the outside with a soft inside, yum. The only thing I changed was that I didn't dip them in melted shortening. Overall, they were a hit at my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This recipe is excellent. It's very easy to make and doesn't take a lot of time. The only change I made was doubling the amount of baking powder. The biscuits turned out really fluffly and made an excellent addition to the meal. They even tasted great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Excellent taste - even though I usually prefer to cook and bake with butter, I definitely recommend using butter flavored shortening; it makes all the difference in the world for flakiness and taste. My advice is to not roll the dough too thin. To achieve the flaky layers, the unbaked dough really should be rather thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
nice and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
It's a great recipe, they were light. A great recipe and is easy to make. The next time I'm going to try the recipe with buttermilk. I tried making them with buttermilk, it didn't come out as good. They also freeze real well. Thanks for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is an easy and very good recipe, have used it several times now already. I started using butter instead of shortening. Double or triple the recipe and cut them thick to make them soft and able to be split and buttered if you like. You can cut the circles out with a round cookie cutter, or even the top of a round cup as I did a few times when I had no cutters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Great Recipe. Bisquits were perfect. I will make these again. Didn't change a thing. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
i love this recipe, tastes so much like when i made bisquick's recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States