Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a nice basic Baking Powder biscuit recipe. I modified it slightly by increasing the Baking powder to 1 TBL, substituting salted butter for 2 of the TBL of shortening, using 1/4 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 and 1/2 cup of nonfat milk, soured with 1 TBL of white vinegar. I used a 3 inch biscuit cutter and got 8 nice biscuits, which I brushed with melted butter instead of dipping in shortening. They rose nicely. Perhaps not the very lightest of biscuits, but easy, satisfying and very tasty with butter or homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Tried this recipe two different times and both times I had the same problem, they just didn't rise. Only tried it because I was missing a couple of things for my usual buscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
add egg and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These biscuits WERE very tasty, however they definitely did NOT make 2-3 dozen. I got about 8 biscuits out of the recipe, and my biscuits were not that large. I would recommend doubling the recipe AT LEAST if you want 2 dozen. The other change I made was to lightly brush the tops with melted butter instead of dipping them; dipping is not necessary. These were very easy, very simple biscuits. I made biscuits and then I also made a batch as mini shortcakes for strawberry shortcake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were great! I've made them several times now. They are quick and easy to make and bake. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening- for flavor. I was craving my old HS home ec style cinnamon biscuits. I added 2 T Sugar, 1 t. cinnamon (guessing as I don't really measure) with powder sugar icing. They hit the spot, though not as light as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious! One of the few recipes I follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Easy to make. Turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'm one of the flat people. After they came out flat I tested the baking pwdr with vinegar and got a solid reaction, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I don't know that it matters for anything, but I found the aftertaste surprisingly salty Others talk about adding more baking pwdr - even to doubling it - but in mine, it was just below the threshold of tasting "chemical-ly" from the existing amount. I'll make these again because of such positive feedback from others. But I'll sour the milk with 1t of vinegar for 5min prior to adding it to the (mostly) dry ingredients' bowl. That should get a good CO2 rise going that will be sustained or enhanced by the oven spring (hopefully).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I didn't really love this recipe. They came out flat and fairly tasteless. The ones we ate right away with butter and jam were not bad but I wont make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Morgan1982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States