Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good.. Brush butter on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Pretty good. The bigger the biscuit the better. The smaller ones were too hard and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I was writing a report for a Criminal Justice class for my highschool when i came upon this recipe. I immediately got up and made them within 20 minutes. They are absolutely delicious! I subbed shortening for butter. Works just as good. I would go easy on the salt and not dip in shortening afterwards. Absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for making a long night of paper writing a great snack time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Followed recipe exactly with one exception- I used 1 tablespoon of baking powder instead of the 2 1/2 teaspoons. Not a drastic change but read that the more baking soda the more they would rise. Super easy and quick to make. Now we can have biscuits and gravy many more mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Love, love, love! Don't over handle the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Finally I've found a recipe just like my Nana's! I just made these and my family absolutely LOVED them!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This recipe reminds me exactly of the ones I grew up eating. They are not the same as the southern biscuits that some may be used to. I made a few modifications: 50-50 Whole wheat and white flour, and used only butter instead of shortening. I'm also too lazy to dip them in melted butter/shortening, so I didn't. A lot of reviewers comment that they don't rise enough, this is probably true! I live at 6000 feet and based on other people's concerns of lack of rise, I didn't reduce the baking powder as I normally do when adjusting for altitude. These come out perfect at high altitude without adjustment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Good. I had to add a little extra milk to form the dough...and the biscuits were slightly salty, so I would cut the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tryed this recipe and the biscuits came out flat as pancakes. I don't know why, I followed the directions exactly and they came out flat. I'm going to try increasing the baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These were good. Fluffy and did rise well. Like many of the other postings i found these to have very little flavor. if I do make these again Ill turn them into a garlic and cheese biscuit.:) Happy baking all and good luck on the quest to finding the perfect biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanjere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States