Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very yummy! I used grated butter instead of oil, and half whole wheat flour. I mixed in a tablespoon of Cheese, Chives and Bacon dip mix, then brushed on butter and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. This is better than my usual biscuit recipe for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were great! I doubled the recipe, but when it came to the part "DIP IN MELTED SHORTENING" I almost died. I brushed a little melted margerine on the tops because the thought of the whole thing dripping in lard didn't sound appealing.They turned out awesome and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Mine didn't rise like they should have. I'll try them again and give them a little time before putting them in the oven. I wouldn't have given them this high a rating except they were easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These biscuits turned out exactly as I had hoped. They were soft and fluffy with a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love, love, love these biscuits. OMG. I didnt think they would come out so good but they did. I make these every night with all my meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have made these twice now (with another recipe in between) and these just don't make the cut for us. I don't know what, but SOMETHING is missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The best from scratch biscuit I've made so far, but not 5 star gold. I'm going to try improving my methods, like placing the biscuits closer together while baking, and barely handling the dough. No hockey pucks yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I would like to know how you're supposed to get 24 biscuits out of this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and was able to get 12 very thin biscuits. I cut them with a 2 1/2" cutter and hoped they'd rise a little during baking. Not really. My biscuits look like miniature pancakes. Next time I make these I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
These were so easy to make and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These were really fast and easy to fix. No kneading required which is always a plus. I didn't care for the flavor though, it seemed like something was missing. I used butter flavor crisco, but I don't think it made much difference than if I had used plain. I got 8 biscuits from this. These were good with Bill's Sausage Gravy over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States