Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'm one of the flat people. After they came out flat I tested the baking pwdr with vinegar and got a solid reaction, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I don't know that it matters for anything, but I found the aftertaste surprisingly salty Others talk about adding more baking pwdr - even to doubling it - but in mine, it was just below the threshold of tasting "chemical-ly" from the existing amount. I'll make these again because of such positive feedback from others. But I'll sour the milk with 1t of vinegar for 5min prior to adding it to the (mostly) dry ingredients' bowl. That should get a good CO2 rise going that will be sustained or enhanced by the oven spring (hopefully).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I didn't really love this recipe. They came out flat and fairly tasteless. The ones we ate right away with butter and jam were not bad but I wont make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Morgan1982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used 5 tablespoons of melted margarine instead of shortening. I also used 1 cup of buttermilk instead of regular milk because when I use the buttermilk they are more flavorful and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Easy and delicious for biscuits and gravy! For those of you who say the biscuits wouldn't rise, make sure you're using FRESH baking powder! My biscuits were at least 2" high, light, and fluffy. I also used softened butter instead of shortening and regular salt instead of Kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I just made these...they are incredible. I too had to substitute w/w flour and butter to them but wow were they awesome! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAFENCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Well now I have made these biscuits twice this week thinking the first time I did something wrong. They absolutely wouldnt rise at all both times they were like hockey pucks and not very fluffy I made them exactly to the recipe maybe its the weather here in Ohio I don't know but I will keep trying to find a light and fluffy airy biscuit I like these are like hockey pucks LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made these today and expected them to turn out like the pictures, unfortunately they were much flatter. They tasted excellent but not very high. Could it be because I didn't have whole milk? and had to use skim? I was careful not to handle the dough too much as my mom told me that was the secret to making good biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
They work, but they're not very exciting. They were flat and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very tasty biscuits. Though they didn't turn out as fluffy as I would have liked. Instead of dipping in shortening, I spread melted butter over the tops prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
AWESOME recipe, love them did add more baking power to make fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States