Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband brought home raspberries,, his favorite, for shortcakes.. he did this a week ago and I made biscuits for the first time in a long time.. I used to use Bakewell cream but didn't have any, so found a recipe on line and made baking powder ones. sort of flat.. so I bought new baking powder,, Today he found this recipe and I tried it,, after they were in the oven I read some reviews.. Oh no..are they going to be good or not.. THEY WERE GREAT! No way do you get the dozen or more.. but I did get 8 normal size biscuits that had at least doubled their height, they were light, moist and flakey.. my only substitution was butter on top prior to baking.. and I always have added two TB of sugar for desserts.. Next time I will do the double batch so we have some left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a nice basic Baking Powder biscuit recipe. I modified it slightly by increasing the Baking powder to 1 TBL, substituting salted butter for 2 of the TBL of shortening, using 1/4 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 and 1/2 cup of nonfat milk, soured with 1 TBL of white vinegar. I used a 3 inch biscuit cutter and got 8 nice biscuits, which I brushed with melted butter instead of dipping in shortening. They rose nicely. Perhaps not the very lightest of biscuits, but easy, satisfying and very tasty with butter or homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Tried this recipe two different times and both times I had the same problem, they just didn't rise. Only tried it because I was missing a couple of things for my usual buscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
add egg and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These biscuits WERE very tasty, however they definitely did NOT make 2-3 dozen. I got about 8 biscuits out of the recipe, and my biscuits were not that large. I would recommend doubling the recipe AT LEAST if you want 2 dozen. The other change I made was to lightly brush the tops with melted butter instead of dipping them; dipping is not necessary. These were very easy, very simple biscuits. I made biscuits and then I also made a batch as mini shortcakes for strawberry shortcake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were great! I've made them several times now. They are quick and easy to make and bake. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening- for flavor. I was craving my old HS home ec style cinnamon biscuits. I added 2 T Sugar, 1 t. cinnamon (guessing as I don't really measure) with powder sugar icing. They hit the spot, though not as light as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious! One of the few recipes I follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great recipe! Easy to make. Turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'm one of the flat people. After they came out flat I tested the baking pwdr with vinegar and got a solid reaction, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I don't know that it matters for anything, but I found the aftertaste surprisingly salty Others talk about adding more baking pwdr - even to doubling it - but in mine, it was just below the threshold of tasting "chemical-ly" from the existing amount. I'll make these again because of such positive feedback from others. But I'll sour the milk with 1t of vinegar for 5min prior to adding it to the (mostly) dry ingredients' bowl. That should get a good CO2 rise going that will be sustained or enhanced by the oven spring (hopefully).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States