Mom's Baked Egg Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe for your next brunch, convienent enough to make to give the kids as they head out the door. Made mine with refrigerated crossant rolls. Just roll out the dough, cut to fit the muffin pan (I used the large muffin tin)didn't even bake the rolls ahead of time. If you like your egg yolk soft or runny, cook the rolls ahead. Used cooked chicken sausage and Quattro Formaggio (Trader Joe's). The possibilies are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
So yummy! My husband, 13 month old son and I just gobbled these up! They have that perfect salty/sweet combination that leaves a mouth happy. We will be adding this one to our recipe box for sure! I made a few changes to the recipe I just thought I would share. #1 - We had leftover scratch whole wheat rolls from dinner the night before. I just ripped 3 of them in half and used one roll half per muffin cup for the bread. #2 - I used turkey bacon instead of regular pork bacon. In the future, I would only cook 5 strips, because I cooked 6 and had leftovers. #3 - I only had to use about 4 eggs for 6 perfectly plump muffins. I whisked them together with the salt and pepper before I poured them in. When I poured them all evenly the cups were full, so I just pressed down into the cups with a whisk to allow for the heavy cream and cheese on top. #4 - I have an electric oven, so maybe that is what influenced this, but I had to cook my muffins for about 24 min. until they were fully cooked. At 11 and 14 minutes the egg white was still clear. Enjoy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhepworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I missed the part where I was supposed to grease the muffin pan--big mistake. I got them to come out of the pan but part of the bread stuck to the bottom. I also beat the eggs (I only used 3 eggs) and I used bacon bits instead of cooking bacon. I thought they were delicious and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Tasty. Just made this as a very late night supper. I think Mom must have larger muffin pans than I because I couldn't get the cream in on top. The egg even overflowed a bit, but the cheese helped it stay in place. I'll have to try again when I buy a jumbo muffin pan. I wasn't able to add the maple syrup to the recipe because I don't have any. I'm sure this tastes even better with it as the way I made it, with just the butter, was good, but I think the flavor would be improved with a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were amazing! followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made it this morning for breakfast. It was great. My husband loved it. He ate three of them. Next time I make it I will leave out the maple syrup. I will add some green onion or mushrooms. Lots of varieties for this one. Love it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
delicious! I didn't use the maple syrup because I don't like the taste so I added 1 Tbsp of butter instead . I used sliced homemade white bread and 3 turkey sausages (cut in little squares) instead of the bacon. next time i'll try it with whole wheat bread as a healthier alternative and perhaps cut down on the butter (or use a diet version of butter). my boyfriend suggested using cubed or shredded roast chicken instead of the bacon as a healthy alternative as well but I didn't think that would taste as good as this. next time i'll also double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was a great idea! I made these this morning. I used large eggs. One of them overflowed because there was not enough space for it. I now know that you must really press the bread into the pan to make as much space possible for the filling. Due to my own error, I forgot to put the bacon in before adding the egg. After putting in the egg, cream and salt and pepper over the toasted bread, I baked these for 10 minutes. Then I pulled them out of the oven, added the bacon and mozzarella (had no Cheddar) and baked for another 5 minutes, rotating the pan, as I noticed the eggs in back of the oven were cooking faster. They were beautiful! The "red" of the bacon and the "white" of the cheese were gorgeous! These muffins looked like flowers! Also, I changed the ratio of butter to maple syrup: 2 tablespoons of butter to 1 tablespoon of pure maple syrup and it worked out well. I served some warmed Philadelphia Lemon & Herb Cooking Cream diluted with a little milk on the side for those that wanted a touch of richness (like Eggs Benedict!). Fresh fruits completed the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were really good, although they did overflow the regular size muffin pan. I think this would also be good with biscuit or crescent rolls. We didn't use the maple syrup but I think next time I will do it for half. The family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I saw these and made them right away. I used whole wheat bread, turkey bacon, and crumbled a slice of colby jack on top. I broiled them for a few seconds at the end so they would be crispy. They did stick a bit, so I'll make sure to spray heavily with oil. But they are delicious! And so easy, too. I'll be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States