Mom's Baked Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
YUM!!! These are so great I won't ever go back to canned baked beans! They are definitely worth the effort. To make them extra special, I even add left over brisket or slow cooked beef. It adds even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
So good! As I am a vegetarian, I left out the bacon and it turned our so yummy! This is really a great recipe. A tip for vegetarians is to use crispy fried onions bought in the asian section of the supermarket and sprinkle on top of the beans when ready. This is always what I use instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The second best baked beans I have ever had! (the first best are from my boyfriends grandmother and her recipe is very similar) I made 4 times this recipe for a party- half in the oven and half in the slow cooker. The beans from the oven turned out WAY better. They were alot thicker. My boyfriends grandmother even complimented me on them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trinabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Sorry but for me these were not edible because they were way too sweet. I think they would be fine with 1/4 cup brown sugar. This recipe has potential and I will try it with the revision. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Turned out perfectly. My husband loves when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made these baked beans for work and they were so good! I used Bush's baked beans as the base. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoJo
Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I thought these were very yummy and easy to make and a great side dish to go along with the BBQ pulled pork recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but it is missing something to give it the pop it needs to be the best. I would decrease the amount of mustard also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Made these for my dad and husband on father's day, and it was a big hit. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Awesome! I love the semi-homemade aspect of this recipe; So simple, but wonderful taste. I did sub honey for the molasses, just cause that's what I had on hand and I omitted the salt, as I thought the bacon would add enough. Used Costco's maple bacon, which is surprisingly superior to standard bacon, and it really added to the over all flavor. Oh, and I used spicy brown mustard instead of plain yellow mustard which I think added a nice depth, rather than a tangy zip you might get from yellow. Mixed it all up in the crock pot dish, covered, and left in the frige overnight, then just put it on low for a few hours the day of. This will be a permanent addition to my BBQ repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States