Mom's Baked Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It just doesn't get any easier than this... and they taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This didn't have enough beans for me, so I am rating what I did. I used 2 pork&beans undrained, 16oz size cans, 2 drained pinto beans, 2 drained dark red kidney beans and 1 can of refried beans. I used 3 medium onions, doubled the molasses and barbeque sauce (Kraft hot) and used 2 tsp of hickory smoke salt. Do not add any salt! I didn't have any liquid. Cooked it all in a big bean pot and stirred every half hour. Total cooking time 2 1/2 hrs. on 325F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious and simple to make - very delicious flavor! My mother, who doesn't LOVE baked beans, LOVED THESE! She had several helpings! Love these - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used Bush's vegetarian baked beans because I wanted to be able to taste the flavor of the liquid smoke. Other beans had added hickory or bacon. The smoke flavor didn't come through at all. Even when I increased the liquid smoke. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added 1/4 cup mustard and brown sugar and garlic. But I thought it was too much mustard. Cooked all day in the slow cooker. I don't like soupy beans, glad I drained off the liquid in the canned beans first because the slow cooker made them too soupy even with draining. Doubt I would make these again. They weren't that more impressive than opening up a can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Best baked beans! I love the use of molasses versus traditional brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by add_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy!! I didn't have canned baked beans so I used plain pork and beans and added a bit more bbq sauce and some red chilis and we were pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome! This reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make. She used to add bacon and brown sugar in addition to molasses and hers also took a long time to bake. These were so good and I love the addition of liquid smoke. I will definitely use this recipe over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I thought the bake time was a lil off. Seems way to long. I took it out of the oven way before recommended bake time and it was still a bit mushy. The flavor was great though. I added cooked bacon towards the end. YUM! Will make again, but maybe a different brand of beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very tasty! I halved this recipe and baked in a loaf pan. My only addition was 1/4 cup of shredded pork. Topped with 2 strips of bacon before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Everybody loved it! Men said I was trying to take over their "baked beans titles". It was really fun! The only change I made was to add a tablespoon or two of regular yellow mustard. I got the idea after reading reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States