Mom's Baked Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My (wonderful) Aunt used to make the BEST baked beans in the world. Since loosing her to breast cancer last March, I have been on the prowl for a recipe close to hers. This is somewhat close. I'm positive that she added brown sugar (which I did not add) and bacon, which I did add. This is a good recipe, I'm gonna play with it to see if I can get it right, the liquid smoke was very distinctive the next day, not bad, but noticable. Thanks Bob! Peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very tasty! I halved this recipe and baked in a loaf pan. My only addition was 1/4 cup of shredded pork. Topped with 2 strips of bacon before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These were really good baked beans. The second time (and every time since) that I made these, I added about 1/4 c. yellow mustard, 1/4 c. brown sugar, and some garlic powder. Hubby loves it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Awesome! This reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make. She used to add bacon and brown sugar in addition to molasses and hers also took a long time to bake. These were so good and I love the addition of liquid smoke. I will definitely use this recipe over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Best baked beans I've ever had. The liquid smoke is what does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is very tasty. I think I used bush's baked beans (original) which already had some sugar in it and the recipe came out a bit too sweet for me. Maybe I'll just use plain beans next time. Regardless, the flavor was excellent. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Best baked beans! I love the use of molasses versus traditional brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addj_chase

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy!! I didn't have canned baked beans so I used plain pork and beans and added a bit more bbq sauce and some red chilis and we were pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Not bad. Very easy and fairly tasty. Liked the addition of the liquid smoke, but still searching for something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Thank you mom for such a good recipe. My family raved about how good these beans were. Suggestion: I used Sweet Baby Rays Bar B Que sauce. You can purchase it at any major supermaket. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States