Mom's Authentic Kosher Cholent Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The cholent recipe I grew up with is almost exactly the same. I will forever adore it. There are few things as comforting as waking up on Shabbos morning to the smell of that wonderful cholent permeating the air of my entire house. Bagels and lox are always good, but the cholent is where it's at! If the front of my white dress shirt isn't blessed by cholent stains by Saturday evening, something's wrong. In my house we prefer a 7 bean mix that has the pinto and kidney beans as well as different colored lentils. Also we add a few yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was really good. I did everything as written except I added some minced garlic with the onions. I prepared everything the night before, but I do not like leaving the oven on while everyone is sleeping so I just stuck it in the fridge and woke up and started it at 7am and cooked it until 6pm. Very tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have a real problem using soup mixes since they are all full of MSG. However I do prefer to use a capful of kitchen bouquet for smoky deep flavor. Otherwise a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was authentic and very good. I made a lot and froze more than half which was evwen better when I reheated it. I also poured some Marsala in on the third day. And finished it up with some sherry poured in. Really good anyway you have it. It is a lot like my grandmothers except she put lima beans in and we werer gratefull that there were no lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
No question a superb recipe. I actually thought it was even better substituting Flanken for the chuck roast. Also if you need a VEGETARIAN OPTION, I substituted Portabella Mushrooms for the meat and sauteed them with the onions. (Let me know if you agree on these two items.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The taste was AWESOME! I added an extra bit of barley which was a mistake because it clumped :(. Also, I once saw a lady presenting her Cholent which was placed in a large turkey aluminium roster and had sort of swirved all her ingredients in a circle manner, ie. beans in perfect order, meat followed and eggs + barley in their places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
We thought it was strange not to have to soak the dry beans overnight but it just goes to show that Mom knows best! I added the dry beans after the meat is browned and made sure to mix it up a bit - sure enough, the beans started to shrivel and soften. I've never used pearled barley either but it is very nice and does not need to be substituted. Also, during the preparation, it seemed like there were not enough beans but it really is a nice proportion in the end. Have faith. I did add some baby carrots which worked very well too. We and our shabbat lunch guests loved it. I will certainly make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this for Shabbat last week- it was very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I thought this recipe a bit bland, so I improved it thus: I omitted the mushroom soup mix but added worchestershire sauce for depth of flavour and added more onions. Comments from my Israeli father-in-law were that I should add more starch, so next time I will add more potatoes. I also used beef stewing bones as the bottom layer, and fully browned both the bones and the beef cubes before adding them to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
How can something so simple be so delicious? Next time I would add carrots though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States