Mom's Authentic Kosher Cholent Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Cholent is a staple in our homes for Saturday lunch!!! So easy and so quick. We use a crock pot and put it on low until the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This was so easy to make and interesting since it cooked all night. The house was filled with an amazing aroma, and it was so worth the wait! Excellent taste and texture and my kids loved it to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
The taste was AWESOME! I added an extra bit of barley which was a mistake because it clumped :(. Also, I once saw a lady presenting her Cholent which was placed in a large turkey aluminium roster and had sort of swirved all her ingredients in a circle manner, ie. beans in perfect order, meat followed and eggs + barley in their places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe is the BEST!!!! I have been looking for Cholent recipe like this for a while. I kept it on 200 for 24 hours and believe me if you try it you won't regret it. The pot was finished within a few hours after it was turned off. After all of that tike I spent keeping it in the oven, but it was worth it. It makes a very big difference. I didnt use onion soup mix because it contains monosodium glutamate, instead some onion powder, or garlic powder in addition to fresh crushed garlic works really well. Thank you very much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was authentic and very good. I made a lot and froze more than half which was evwen better when I reheated it. I also poured some Marsala in on the third day. And finished it up with some sherry poured in. Really good anyway you have it. It is a lot like my grandmothers except she put lima beans in and we werer gratefull that there were no lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is the best cholent I've ever had. The taste is fantastic. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
No question a superb recipe. I actually thought it was even better substituting Flanken for the chuck roast. Also if you need a VEGETARIAN OPTION, I substituted Portabella Mushrooms for the meat and sauteed them with the onions. (Let me know if you agree on these two items.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this for Shabbat last week- it was very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
THIS WAS A GREAT RECIPE FOR OUR FIRST SABBATH FOR OUR FRIDAY EVENING MEAL. I USED MY CROCK POT. IT WENT SO WELL THAT I WENT OUT TO BUY ANOTHER CROCK POT SO I CAN HAVE THIS FOR OUR FRIDAY EVENING MEAL AND OUR SABBATH AFTERNOON MEAL. I HAVE 5 CHILDREN AND A GREEDY HUSBAND, THEY ALL LOVED IT AND WANT MORE. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
We thought it was strange not to have to soak the dry beans overnight but it just goes to show that Mom knows best! I added the dry beans after the meat is browned and made sure to mix it up a bit - sure enough, the beans started to shrivel and soften. I've never used pearled barley either but it is very nice and does not need to be substituted. Also, during the preparation, it seemed like there were not enough beans but it really is a nice proportion in the end. Have faith. I did add some baby carrots which worked very well too. We and our shabbat lunch guests loved it. I will certainly make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States