Mom's Authentic Kosher Cholent Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Cholent is a staple in our homes for Saturday lunch!!! So easy and so quick. We use a crock pot and put it on low until the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
THIS WAS A GREAT RECIPE FOR OUR FIRST SABBATH FOR OUR FRIDAY EVENING MEAL. I USED MY CROCK POT. IT WENT SO WELL THAT I WENT OUT TO BUY ANOTHER CROCK POT SO I CAN HAVE THIS FOR OUR FRIDAY EVENING MEAL AND OUR SABBATH AFTERNOON MEAL. I HAVE 5 CHILDREN AND A GREEDY HUSBAND, THEY ALL LOVED IT AND WANT MORE. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This was so easy to make and interesting since it cooked all night. The house was filled with an amazing aroma, and it was so worth the wait! Excellent taste and texture and my kids loved it to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe is the BEST!!!! I have been looking for Cholent recipe like this for a while. I kept it on 200 for 24 hours and believe me if you try it you won't regret it. The pot was finished within a few hours after it was turned off. After all of that tike I spent keeping it in the oven, but it was worth it. It makes a very big difference. I didnt use onion soup mix because it contains monosodium glutamate, instead some onion powder, or garlic powder in addition to fresh crushed garlic works really well. Thank you very much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I thought this recipe a bit bland, so I improved it thus: I omitted the mushroom soup mix but added worchestershire sauce for depth of flavour and added more onions. Comments from my Israeli father-in-law were that I should add more starch, so next time I will add more potatoes. I also used beef stewing bones as the bottom layer, and fully browned both the bones and the beef cubes before adding them to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a good BASE cholent recipe, but this is what I do for mine: Add a kielbasa, fresh garlic, Mrs. Dash, two carrots and paprika. Use a crock pot to slow cook it for 12 hours, and it will come out very tasty for your Shabbos lunch meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This was good. I have to admit, I am not a huge cholent fan and this recipe didn't convert me. My husband, however, loves cholent and is partial to "athentic" recipes. We lost the last one we ere given so we decided to give this one a shot. My husband loved it! I didn't change a thing in erms of the recipe. It is a solid cholent recipe if you like cholent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made this in a crockpot rather than a pot in the oven and assumed that therefore I would need to use a lot more water than the recipe suggested. Unfortunately, the water didn't evaporate as I had thought it would (when I make vegetable soup in the crockpot, the water always evaporates) so it turned out really soupy. I managed to salvage it by scooping out the thick parts at the bottom and siphoning off the liquid. It's probably a fine recipe when followed exactly, but unfortunately we don't like to keep the oven on, even at a low temperature, over Shabbat. It just makes the house, especially the kitchen, really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
One of the best cholents I've made. I added seasoning salt - it needed that little kick of flavor. I also used beer with the water. Cooked over night in a crock pot and was a hit for Shabbos lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is the best cholent I've ever had. The taste is fantastic. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States