Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I used this recipe for the filling, and the Streusel Apple Pie recipe for the topping. The pie was absolutely wonderful. That’s saying a lot since I grew up on an orchard in a town known for it’s fantastic apple pies. If using a firm tart apple such as Granny Smith, slice apples thinly (approx 1/4”). This will facilitate a good texture without overcooking the pie. I used a regular 9” pie plate (Corning is my favorite), and used 6 medium to large Granny Smiths. Apples cook down; I was taught to pile them into the pie plate and pack ‘em in (before baking, my packed mound of apples rose above the edge of the plate approx. 3 – 4 inches). After heaping the apple mixture into the crust and dotting it with butter, I covered the pie with aluminum foil and placed it into a preheated 450-degree oven. After baking for 10 minutes I reduced the heat to 350 and baked for another 30 minutes while making the streusel topping. I then removed and uncovered the pie, patted the topping on my mound of apples, covered the edge of the pie with a strip of foil to prevent overcooking the crust, and returned it to the oven for another 30 minutes at 350. I had excellent results by following both the filling and topping recipes; I didn’t have whiskey so I used good scotch. I’ll never use vanilla in an apple pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Can't give this enough stars. The only change I made was to brush the crust with milk before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I made this pie for my father-in-law for his birthday and he hasn't left me alone since! This is a great pie. I did not have whiskey so I subsituted it with Vanilla Extract and it came out wonderful!!! I did a Lattice top as well and it also turned out great!! It is so easy to make and so wonderful! :)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I wowed my new boyfriend and his family with this recipe last year! They loved it so much, I didn't even get any leftovers! I am planning on using it again this year, but I will be making a lot more! P.S. This year (2005) I made a pie from this recipe using Splenda instead of sugar for a diabetic friend of mine. He said that it tasted wonderful, and my boyfriend said that he couldn't taste the difference between the Splenda pie and the sugar pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is a great pie! Rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner. My husband actually said it was better than "mom's". Thanks! The only thing I did differently than recipe was to put a dash of whiskey in some melted butter and brush the top of the pie...then sprinkled with a touch of cinnamon and sugar...just to crisp up the crust. I did this when there was only about 10 minutes left to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This pie is great with the touch of whiskey. I used a crumble topping instead of pie crust and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Ever since I made this pie and brought it to our family Thanksgiving dinner, I'm the designated apple pie maker for our holiday get-togethers. This is a marvelous recipe and the whiskey gives it a subtle, spicy kick. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is SO good and I'm not normally a fan of apple pie. I doubled the spices, though, as I usually do with pie recipes! Also, I didn't have whiskey so I substited with a really rich brandy. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This pie turned out pretty good. I only used 5 apples and my pie was a little flat so I will use more apples next time. I forgot to add the butter but I don't think it needed it. I also dabbed the top crust with egg yolk and sugar which made the crust come out a pretty golden brown. I also cooked it about 15 mins longer then suggested because my apples were still a little hard the first time I took it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Delicious. Recommend using 6 LARGE apples or 8-10 small ones. I used 6 small and found it was a little too sweet because of that. Still, delicious flavor with the whiskey and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States