Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe was good, will need to make a few minor adjustments. Forgot to add an egg wash and/or sugar to brown the top crust. The bottom crust was not done enough so I'll have to place it on the bottom of the oven for a few minutes and then bake as usual. Overall good flavor and will make again. Whiskey added some depth, but I couldn't really taste it. May add a splash more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarcoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is it! The ultimate apple pie! I gave the recipe to a friend who commented that she could taste the whiskey, so I don't know if there are whiskies that are more potent than others. I use "cheap" whiskey and have not had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love apple pie but had never baked one until yesterday. Can I just say Holy Moly! This is the best pie I have ever tasted. The smell was enticing the look was beautiful (I used the flaky butter pie crust from this site) the flavoring perfect. I used Gentlemen Jack on my pie, I had recently received a gift pack of JD and had an option of three types of whiskey (to me this one smelled smoother). Every one in the house was eager to try it and would not leave it alone (Test Pie). Even my sis-in-law who usually bakes for T-Day said they'll never ask her to bake again. Really and truly an awesome recipe Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was my first time making an apple pie and it was great! I didn't change anything about the recipe -- it is perfect as is. The whiskey definitely makes this pie. I used the Pillsbury pie crusts you can find in the refrigerated section and it turned out delicious. I made this once for my fiancé and I and later on for my parents -- we all loved it and I've been asked to make it for Thanksgiving next week! Thanks so much for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This pie was way too tart for our tastes. Other than that the flavor was good and the whiskey was a nice addition. In the future I will not use tart apples or will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. My wife has chained me in the kitchen and forced me to make them every night this week. They are so amazingly good. I was worried at first that the sauce would not be enough. You do not have the "gravy" that you normally get with apples in the can. But trust the recipe...the sauce is plenty. Oh, and I hate eating old pies and I especially hate throwing away old pies, so I took small 4 inch custard bowls and made personal pies. They ended up looking great and tasting better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This pie is very good, my husband isn't a big pie eater, he tasted it and said it was good. I loved it, I will make it again. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
My husband said this was the best apple pie he's ever had...and he's had a lot of apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this is awesome pie...i just made it and "WOW" its great. all i did was use 9inch unroll and bake crust... i put the 9 inch crust in a 10 inch pan,this helps with over flow and you get golden brown edge and not dark/black edge. awesome, awesome,awesome..5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Ever since I made this pie and brought it to our family Thanksgiving dinner, I'm the designated apple pie maker for our holiday get-togethers. This is a marvelous recipe and the whiskey gives it a subtle, spicy kick. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States