Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a good pie, not the best I've ever had but good. I did find that I had to cook it a little longer then what the recipe called for, about 10 more minutes. It also wasn't as liquid-y (for lack of a better word) as I like my pies to be. I will say that I liked it because usually the syrup bubbles out of the pie and all over the cookie sheet and that didn't happen with this pie but it was too little. It's easily fixable and I think next time I will increase the sugar and flour a bit, a 1/4 of flour and a 1/2 cup each of brown and white sugar.I did like the addition of the whiskey, I couldn't taste the whiskey but it added a depth to the flavor. I will make this again but with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I would have given this 5 stars if I hadn't almost immediately after making this also made Ina Garten's French Apple Tart (Food Network). I thought this pie was excellent, but, compared to that tart.... wow! I will say, however, that both recipes called for liquor (whisky in this one, rum in the other), and, that is my new favorite way to bake with apples. The alcohol brings a wonderful depth to the dish! I am keeping this recipe for the filling (I had to make a gluten-free crust, so I cannot comment on the crust here) and will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this last year during apple season and froze in a bunch of fillings (less the butter and whiskey). Even thawing the prepared fillings, adding to a storebought crust, a sprinkle of minute tapioca (to absorb excess moisture), butter and whiskey, top crust, bake and this is still, bar none, the best apple pie EVER! I gave a frozen filling to friends and their entire family has now adopted this recipe! Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is theeeee best apple pie I have ever eaten. I used gravenstein apples. The nutmeg and whiskey were a great addition . Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Almost too easy... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Sooo good, and easy! Just the recipe I was looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is the BEST apple pie I have ever tasted! I decided the night before thanksgiving that I'd help my mom out and make a pie and I'm glad I did! Its awesome! Now every time theres a holiday I get asked to make this pie. The whiskey is a must and is what sets it apart from every other apple pie. My dutch mother who loves dutch apple pie says this tastes just like something you'd eat in Holland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe was good, will need to make a few minor adjustments. Forgot to add an egg wash and/or sugar to brown the top crust. The bottom crust was not done enough so I'll have to place it on the bottom of the oven for a few minutes and then bake as usual. Overall good flavor and will make again. Whiskey added some depth, but I couldn't really taste it. May add a splash more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarcoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is it! The ultimate apple pie! I gave the recipe to a friend who commented that she could taste the whiskey, so I don't know if there are whiskies that are more potent than others. I use "cheap" whiskey and have not had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love apple pie but had never baked one until yesterday. Can I just say Holy Moly! This is the best pie I have ever tasted. The smell was enticing the look was beautiful (I used the flaky butter pie crust from this site) the flavoring perfect. I used Gentlemen Jack on my pie, I had recently received a gift pack of JD and had an option of three types of whiskey (to me this one smelled smoother). Every one in the house was eager to try it and would not leave it alone (Test Pie). Even my sis-in-law who usually bakes for T-Day said they'll never ask her to bake again. Really and truly an awesome recipe Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States