Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I made this pie for my father-in-law for his birthday and he hasn't left me alone since! This is a great pie. I did not have whiskey so I subsituted it with Vanilla Extract and it came out wonderful!!! I did a Lattice top as well and it also turned out great!! It is so easy to make and so wonderful! :)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Delicious. Recommend using 6 LARGE apples or 8-10 small ones. I used 6 small and found it was a little too sweet because of that. Still, delicious flavor with the whiskey and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ST.JON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Amazing apple pie. I had never made an apple pie before and this was great. Very easy and extremely tasty. I made it for a birthday get together at work and everyone loved it. Thank you for such a wonderful and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Absolutely fantastic apple pie! My husband went back for a second piece, and he never does that for apple pie. Normally, he likes it, but this one, he just couldn't get enough of. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My pie turned out to be a little tart, especially the next day when we had leftovers. I contribute this to my mistake. I used a little less brown sugar because I didn't want an overly sweet pie.. I should have used what the recipe called for. I also used vanilla extract instead of the alcohol. I will definitely make this again with all the recommended amounts. Because even with my mistake it tasted very good and look very nice coming out of the oven. The overall flavor was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I got absolutely rave reviews for this pie! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, but it really was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is the best apple pie i have ever tasted. I'm not to fond of apple pie and i made this for a party we had at work. Everybody could not believe how good this pie was. I agree that serving it warm is the trick. I made the pie the night before and we set the oven to warm at work and stuck it in for about an hour. We then served it and it was delicious. I don't think i'll ever use another pie recipe again. I also used Macintosh appels which might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I finally got to try some of this pie this morning and thought it was fabulous. I only had Red Delicious apples on hand but it seems to have turned out fine. Used Walmart brand pie crusts in the refrigerated section and made a lattice top (use a pizza cutter to make this job go quicker and easier). This has the perfect amount of sugar and spice, not too much of anything. Just plain, darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is a great pie! Rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner. My husband actually said it was better than "mom's". Thanks! The only thing I did differently than recipe was to put a dash of whiskey in some melted butter and brush the top of the pie...then sprinkled with a touch of cinnamon and sugar...just to crisp up the crust. I did this when there was only about 10 minutes left to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This pie turned out pretty good. I only used 5 apples and my pie was a little flat so I will use more apples next time. I forgot to add the butter but I don't think it needed it. I also dabbed the top crust with egg yolk and sugar which made the crust come out a pretty golden brown. I also cooked it about 15 mins longer then suggested because my apples were still a little hard the first time I took it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States