Mom's Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was my first time making an apple pie and it was great! I didn't change anything about the recipe -- it is perfect as is. The whiskey definitely makes this pie. I used the Pillsbury pie crusts you can find in the refrigerated section and it turned out delicious. I made this once for my fiancé and I and later on for my parents -- we all loved it and I've been asked to make it for Thanksgiving next week! Thanks so much for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This pie was way too tart for our tastes. Other than that the flavor was good and the whiskey was a nice addition. In the future I will not use tart apples or will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the best apple pie I have ever eaten. My wife has chained me in the kitchen and forced me to make them every night this week. They are so amazingly good. I was worried at first that the sauce would not be enough. You do not have the "gravy" that you normally get with apples in the can. But trust the recipe...the sauce is plenty. Oh, and I hate eating old pies and I especially hate throwing away old pies, so I took small 4 inch custard bowls and made personal pies. They ended up looking great and tasting better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This pie is very good, my husband isn't a big pie eater, he tasted it and said it was good. I loved it, I will make it again. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
My husband said this was the best apple pie he's ever had...and he's had a lot of apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this is awesome pie...i just made it and "WOW" its great. all i did was use 9inch unroll and bake crust... i put the 9 inch crust in a 10 inch pan,this helps with over flow and you get golden brown edge and not dark/black edge. awesome, awesome,awesome..5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Ever since I made this pie and brought it to our family Thanksgiving dinner, I'm the designated apple pie maker for our holiday get-togethers. This is a marvelous recipe and the whiskey gives it a subtle, spicy kick. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is one of the best apple pie's that I have ever had, my friends and family all agree.The whiskey is a good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vegan Fatty
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I got so many compliments on this pie. I think the whiskey was a very nice touch. One man at the party hardly ever speaks, so when he said this pie was great I believed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Fatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was the best apple pie I have ever made. Excellent Receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States